Driving on a Suspended License – Everything you ever want to know about driving on or while your license is suspended in Maryland
Maryland Driving on Suspended License Penalty – Contact Maryland Driving While Suspended Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900 to discuss your traffic citations, insurance consequences, MVA points, and how to defend your driving on suspended charges. We offer free no-obligation consultations to drivers charged with a license suspension in Maryland.
Contact Attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900 (24/7).
Most people that have never had a traffic ticket are surprised to learn that driving on a suspended license in Maryland is a “must appear” ticket and carries the potential for jail time. If it is your first offense for driving on suspended license, then you are probably not going to go to jail, so stop planning your escape to Mexico. If your license or privilege to drive in Maryland has been suspended, canceled, or revoked, there are answers and a chance to fix the problem before you go to Court. Contact my office at 410-288-2900 for immediate help and ask for Attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr.
Driving while suspended (16-303) citations are charged in the District Court of Maryland and that is where you will have to appear to answer the charges of driving while suspended. Driving on suspended licence charges in Maryland as classified as misdemeanors. As an attorney that appears in the District and Circuit Court on a daily basis, I would bet I handle at least 2-4 driving while suspended cases a week in the District Courts for Maryland. Most of the case that we see result in drivers that are pulled over while they are suspended for failing to appear for a trial date on a much less serious traffic offense. In 2011, the Maryland legislature change the requirement for all “payable” traffic citations in Maryland. Before January 2011, if you received a traffic ticket and the maximum penalty was a fine, then you would receive a Court date in the mail about 4-6 weeks after the traffic stop. Now, if you are charged with a “payable” ticket, then you have to request either a waiver or trial date within 30 days or you have to pay the ticket within that 30 days after the stop. What most people do is they place the ticket in their glove compartment and forget about the ticket. After that 30 day period the MVA notifies the Court and the Court then tells the MVA that you have failed to take action on the ticket. The Court then orders the MVA to suspend your license until you pay the ticket. This inaction by drivers leads to most of the cases of driving on a suspended license. If you fail to pay that fine and you are pulled over then the police will charge with you Transportation Article 16-303(h). If you are charged with 16-303(h) then you are facing a maximum penalty of 60 days and $500.00 fine or both.
Another common offense that can land your license suspended is failing to pay for your insurance. If you fail to pay your insurance premium, your insurance company will send a notice to the Maryland MVA and the MVA will suspend your license. If your insurance has lapsed, and you are pulled over, the police officer will charge you with Maryland Transportation Article 16-303(h), that means you will be facing a maximum penalty of 60 days and $500.00 fine, or both.
If you are driving through another state and you are pulled over in that state and issued a traffic ticket, then that state will expect you to pay that fine or resolve the matter in Court. If you fail to pay that fine, then that state will notify the Maryland MVA that you have failed to pay a fine and the Maryland MVA will suspend your license and privilege to drive in Maryland. If you are pulled over while suspended for failing to pay a fine in another state, then the police officer will issue you a ticket under Maryland Transportation Article 16-303(i). If you are convicted of 16-303(i), you are facing a maximum penalty of 60 days and $500.00 fine, or both. If you are charged with driving on suspended license for failing to pay an out of state fine, contact me at 410-288-2900 to discuss your rights and defenses.
If you have been ordered by the Court to pay child support and that child support has not been paid on time, then the Court will notify the MVA and the MVA will suspend your license. If you are pulled over and your license is suspended for failing to pay child support, then the police officer will issue a ticket under Maryland Transportation Article 16-303(c). If you are convicted of 16-303(c), the maximum penalty the Court can impose is 1 year in jail and $1,000.00 fine, or both. If you are facing a 16-303 driving on suspended license charge, you need to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Call my office at 410-288-2900 to discuss your charges and defenses, we are available 24/7 to discuss your case.
Aside from the possible jail time and fines, the Court could imposed a period of probation, community services, Court costs, and a number of other conditions for a conviction. That is why it is imperative to hire an experience and trusted criminal defense and traffic ticket attorney in Maryland. Contact my office at 410-288-2900 for immediate help, ask for Randolph Rice.
Another reason for a license suspension in Maryland is an accumulation of points. If you receive too many points from other traffic tickets then it can add up and with enough points, the MVA will suspend your license. That can occur with too many speeding tickets or moving violations or a prior DUI or DWI conviction. Also, if you were stopped and charged with a DUI or DWI and you failed a breath test or refused to take the test, your license may be suspended and the police officer can charge you under the Transportation Article 16-303(c). The maximum penalty if 1 year and $1,000.00, or both.
How Do You Get out of Driving on Suspended License Ticket in Maryland (MD)
Once you have been pulled over and the police officer has issued a citation for driving on suspended license in Maryland, you should contact a lawyer as soon as possible. There is constant case law being created by the Court addressing the requirements the state must present in every case to prove that you were driving on a suspended license. A lawyer like myself that handles driving on suspended license cases daily, have numerous cases that we can use to apply defenses in your case. In addition to hiring a lawyer, you should also resolve the issue as soon as possible. The sooner you take care of the underlying reason for the suspension, the better the outcome for your case. In addition to the requirments that the State must prove, in regards to the driving on suspended charges, we can also challenge the traffic stop and reason for the police officer to pull you over.
Driving While Suspended Maryland, How Serious is it?
Driving while suspended in Maryland is extremely serious and retaining a lawyer is one of the best actions you can take after a charge is issued. Any traffic citation that can put you in jail, even for one minute, is serious and you should hire a lawyer that handles those types of cases. Contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 for immediate help. Some Judges in Maryland do not like driving while suspended licenses, and some Judges may place a driver in jail for a day, weekend, or even a majority of the maximum penalty for the charge.
What are the Penalties in Maryland for Driving While Suspended in Maryland (MD)?
Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h): Maximum of $500 fine and 60 days incarcerated.
Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i): Maximum of $500 fine and 60 days incarcerated.
Penalties for Driving While Suspended violations in the state of Maryland can include fines, court costs, or MVA points.
Below find the MVA consequence for a conviction of the following violations:
Refused licenses: 12 MVA points.
Canceled licenses: 12 MVA points.
Suspended License Generally: 12 MVA points.
Revoked licenses: 12 MVA points.
Licenses canceled by other states: 12 MVA points.
Licenses suspended by other states: 12 MVA points.
Licenses revoked by other states: 12 MVA points
Licenses suspended under certain provisions of article (16-303(h)): 3 MVA points.
Contact my office at 410-288-2900 for immediate help or email me directly for driving on suspended help in Maryland.
Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC
6914 Holabird Avenue, Suite A
Baltimore, Maryland 21222
Click here for a Google Places map to our office.
Located on the eastside of Baltimore County, easy access for residents in Baltimore County, Baltimore City, Harford County, Anne Arundel County, Howard County, and all of Maryland. If you cannot make it into the office for a free consulation, we can conduct the interview and handle the case over the phone, email and via fax. Contact the office today at 410-288-2900 for help.