Posted in Courts on December 12, 2014If you live in the state of Maryland and you have been charged with second degree assault, then you should be aware of the possible second degree Maryland laws & penalties that you could face. Despite the fact that an assault second degree charge is not as serious as being charged with first degree assault and/or battery, you could still be sentenced up to ten years in prison, according to Maryland State law. [uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’tqNEKlKE7fs’] It is of the utmost importance that you seek an attorney with expertise in this area of law to significantly decrease your chances of going to prison. Experienced lawyers are very knowledgeable of the laws, and the right lawyer can represent you in court, which could enable you to be required to only pay a fine or have your case dismissed. Not only are assault and battery attorneys familiar with the law, but they can use the law to their advantage—and yours. Maryland law states that a second degree assault charge could result in a fine of up to $5,000 is charged as a felony, and up to $2,500 if considered a misdemeanor.