The cost for a second DUI could be more than just money out of your pocket. Most estimates place the cost of a first offense DUI at around $10,000. However, the cost for a second DUI could be between $10,000 and $20,000 depending on a number of factors.
In addition to the financial expenses, there may be a social stigma attached to the second or subsequent conviction for drunk driving charges in Maryland. If you have been charged with a second DUI or DWI, speak with an experienced drunk driving and criminal defense attorney today.
There could be various costs and fees associated with a second DUI. We have broken down just a few of the common expenses you may incur after a DUI or DWI arrest.
The cost for a DUI starts from the moment the police officer decides to arrest you. If a police officer makes an arrest, more likely than not they will leave your vehicle at the scene of the arrest. The officer will not let you drive the vehicle until they believe you are safe to drive, therefore, they will leave the vehicle in the place it was found when you are arrested.
The officer may allow a sober individual to pick up the vehicle. However if the police officer chooses to tow your car, it could cost between $300 and $500 to recover that vehicle from the tow yard. In addition to the tow fee, every day your vehicle stays in the impound lot, you will incur an additional charge between $30 and $50 a day.
Alcohol Education & Treatment
If you been arrested for a second DUI in Maryland, it will be recommended by your DUI attorney that you attend an alcohol education and treatment program. Most treatment programs charge on a sliding scale based on your income.
The fees can range from a few hundred dollars to thousands of dollars depending on the quality of the treatment facility you choose. If you are recommended to complete outpatient treatment, it may be a lot less expensive than an inpatient treatment program.
Inpatient treatment programs can cost between $8,000 to $20,000 for a 28 day stay. Most inpatient programs will last about 28 days unless you elect to stay longer. Health insurance may cover some or all of the inpatient or outpatient treatment program costs.
Alcohol education treatment programs vary from program to program. Some programs will charge less than others, but often you get what you pay for. You want to find a program that offers a court liaison who will appear in court with you on your trial date.
Probation Fines and Fees for a Second DWI in Maryland
There are two types of probation a judgment may place a defendant on if they are found guilty of DUI or DWI in Maryland. The judge may order the defendant to be supervised by Parole and Probation or supervised by the Drinking Driving Monitor Program (DDMP).
The judge is able to waive the probation fees if an individual is supervised by parole and probation. However, a judge is not able to waive the probation fees if a person is supervised by the drinking driving monitor program.
Standard probation fees in Maryland are $40 a month. A judge may order random urinalysis which costs around $120 per test.
Increased Insurance Costs After a 2nd DUI Conviction in Maryland
If you were convicted for a second DUI in Maryland, more likely than not your insurance rates will increase. If a conviction appears on your driving record, your insurance company will be able to see that conviction and assess higher premiums. Car insurance rates increase by up to 50% for a drunk-driving conviction.
If you receive a probation before judgment, your insurance company may not be able to see your driving record. As probation before judgment outcomes are not visible on Maryland driving records to the general public. However, insurance companies are finding ways to discover driving offense and may be able to determine if you have been arrested for drunk driving by checking the Maryland Judiciary Case Search website.
The Cost of the Ignition Interlock Program in Maryland
If you’re required or ordered to place an ignition interlock device or blow and go, in your vehicle, you are required to pay for the installation, removal and monthly maintenance fees.
Most interlock providers will charge between $100 and $200 to install an ignition interlock device. The monthly maintenance fee for an ignition interlock it typically between $60 and $100 per month. At the end of the term, the ignition interlock provider will charge you to remove the device and it can cost between $100 and $300.
If you’re found guilty or receive a probation before judgment, the judge can assess a fine up to $2,000 for a second DUI conviction in Maryland.
If you are found guilty of a second DWI in Maryland, a Judge can order a fine up to $1000.
However, depending on the crime or section of the DUI statute, a 2nd DUI defendant can be fined up to $2,000.00.
In Maryland, the standard court costs for a serious traffic offense like a DUI or DWI is $57.50. These costs help pay for the court expenses as well as other related government programs funded by the court. In addition to the standard court costs, a judge may impose a fine for a DUI conviction or probation before judgment. Judges are not required to assess a fine, but fines run between $100 and $500 for a DUI or DWI conviction or PBJ.
If You Were Arrested for Your Second DUI or DWI, Our Defense Attorneys Can Help
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving and it is your second offense, it is highly recommended you hire a DUI defense lawyer to defend you against the charges. The Law Offices of Randolph Rice has represented thousands of individuals charged with a second offense DUI in Maryland.
Contact the office today to schedule a free consultation and discuss the cost of a second DUI in Maryland.