Blog

16-303 Maryland – Driving while license is suspended, canceled, revoked, or refused: What does it mean and what

Maryland Suspended License Attorney | Suspended License Lawyer in Baltimore

16-303 Maryland: What does it mean and what are the penalties. from Maryland traffic ticket attorney – G. Randolph Rice, Jr.

If you’ve been stopped and charged with any section of Transportation Article 16-303, the police and the State of Maryland are charging you with either; Driving while privilege to drive is canceled, suspended, revoked or refused.

Contact Maryland attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., for immediate legal help at (410) 288-2900.

If you have been charged with any section of 16-303 of the Maryland Transportation Articles you should:

  • Contact a lawyer as soon as possible, call Maryland attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email Mr. Rice;
  • Contact the Maryland MVA and determine why your privilege to drive is canceled, suspended, revoked or refused.
  • If you are not licensed in Maryland, contact the State where your license was issued and determine why your license is canceled, suspended, revoked or refused.
  • If you license was suspended because you failed to pay for a prior ticket, pay any outstanding traffic fines that have caused the suspension;
  • If your license is suspended because you failed to pay child support, make payment as soon as possible;
  • If your license is suspended for any other reason, clear that suspension as soon as possible;
  • Make sure you contact attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and defenses.

Do I have to appear in Court if I have been charged with 16-303?

Yes, in Maryland any violation of TA(Transportation Article) 16-303 is a must appear.

If I am convicted of 16-303 in Maryland, is it classified as a felony or misdemeanor?

In Maryland, any violation of TA 16-303 is classified as a misdemeanor.

What is the penalty for violation of TA 16-303 in Maryland?

Maximum Court Penalties for Driving on Canceled, Suspended, Refused, or Revoked Driver’s License in Maryland (MD):

OffensePenalty (1st Offense)Penalty (2nd or Subsequent Offense)Points assessed if found guilty.
16-303(a) Driving with a refused license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(b) Driving with a canceled license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(c) Driving with a suspended license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(d) Driving with a revoked license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(e) Driving with a license canceled by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(f) Driving with a license suspended by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(g) Driving with a license revoked by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(h) Driving with a suspended license under 17-106, 26-204, 26-206, or 27-103A fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both3 Points
16-303(i) Driving with suspended license by another State for failing to pay a fine or appear in CourtA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both3 Points

For a First Offense or conviction:

  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (a) Driving on Suspended License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (b) Driving on Canceled License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (d) Driving on Revoked License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (e) Driving License Canceled by Other States: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (g) Driving on License Revoked by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both.

For a Second of Subsequent Offense:

  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (a) Driving on Suspended License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (b) Driving on Canceled License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (d) Driving on Revoked License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (e) Driving License Canceled by Other States: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (g) Driving on License Revoked by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both. (Penalty if same for First Offense)
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both. (Penalty is same for First Offense)

In addition to jail and fines, the Court may also impose court costs, probation, and any special conditions of probation that must be completed during the probationary period.

Below find the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration Point consequence for a conviction of the following traffic statutes:

  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (a) Driving on Suspended License: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (b) Driving on Canceled License: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (d) Driving on Revoked License: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (e) Driving License Canceled by Other States: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (g) Driving on License Revoked by Other State: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: 3 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: 3 Points

If you have been charged with 16-303 in Maryland, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at (410) 288-2900.

The Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, represents clients in Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Harford County, Howard County, Anne Arundel County and Ocean City Maryland.

Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC
6914 Holabird Avenue, Suite A
Baltimore, Maryland 21222

Office: (410) 288-2900

Email: RiceLawMD@gmail.com

Click here to follow G. Randolph Rice, Jr. on Google+

2 thoughts on “16-303 Maryland – Driving while license is suspended, canceled, revoked, or refused: What does it mean and what”

  1. Hi I was pulled over the other day and was told that my license was suspended which I had no knowledge of. I never received any thing in the mail about my license being suspended. So I now have to go to court. I called the district court and they told me that my license was suspended due to a ticket that I hadn’t paid. I paid it the next day and took it to the MVA to get the suspension lifted. This would be my first offense. My license is now back in good standing. When I go to court will I have to serve jail time for this? Do I need to go to court with a lawyer or should I be ok if I show that my license is back in good standing and I took care of my ticket?

    1. Sydnee, Thank you for the comment. I would suggest that you hire a lawyer to appear in Court with you. Since that offense does carry the possibility of jail time, you want to have a lawyer there to protect your rights. You have done everything you can at this point. Knowledge is one of the elements of the crime. However, the State may argue that since you received the ticket in the past, you should have known that you had to pay it. There may be a defense to that though, call me at the office 410.288.2900 and we can discuss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c