2nd Degree Assault in Maryland
If you have been arrested or charged with 2nd degree assault in Maryland, call me, attorney Randolph Rice, to discuss your case and schedule a free consultation. You can call my office 24/7 at 410-288-2900 or click here to email me directly.
I have put together this blog entry to try and address come of the most common questions from clients after they have been charged with assault second degree in Md.
I am an attorney located in Baltimore County, Maryland that represents clients charged with criminal law offenses. I am a former prosecutor and have represented hundreds of clients charged with criminal offenses.
I represent clients in the following counties and cities in Maryland:
- Baltimore County, Md.;
- Baltimore City, Md.;
- Harford County, Md.;
- Howard County, Md.;
- Anne Arundel County, Md.; and
- Ocean City, Maryland.
2nd Degree and 1st Degree Assault FAQ
Q: Is Second Degree Assault a felony in Maryland?
A: No, second degree assault is not a felony in Maryland, it is classified as a misdemeanor. However, first degree assault is a felony in Maryland.
Q: What is the penalty for second degree assault in Md.?
A: The maximum penalty for second degree assault in Md., is 10 years and/or $5,000.00 fine.
Q: What is the penalty for first degree assault in Maryland?
A: The maximum penalty for first degree assault is 25 years in jail.
Q: What will happen when I go to Court for 2nd degree assault in Maryland?
A: There is no standard outcome in 2nd degree assault cases in Maryland. There are factors in each case that must be evaluated. The State has picked up the charges in 2nd degree assault cases in Maryland. The State’s Attorney will make the final decision whether to proceed with the charges or nol prosequi (dismiss) the case. If the State decides to proceed with the charges, they will make a plea offer to your lawyer or you have the option of having a trial before a Judge or Jury. A jury trial would occur in the Circuit Court for the county where you are charged, the Judge trial can occur in the District Court or the Circuit Court for the County.
If you have been charged with 2nd degree assault or 1st degree assault in Maryland, don’t wait till the trial date and don’t go to Court without a lawyer. Call my office today to schedule a free consultation at 410-288-2900. You can speak with me, attorney Randolph Rice, and I can help defend your rights in Court.