Have you been charged with 4th degree burglary in Maryland? Contact criminal defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900 for schedule a free legal consultation. We offer same day appointments.
4th Degree Burglary
Q: What section of the Maryland criminal law provides the law for the crime of 4th degree burglary?
A: 4th degree burglary in Maryland is contained in Maryland Criminal Law Section 6-205.
Q: Is 4th degree burglary defined as a misdemeanor or a felony in Maryland?
A: 4th degree burglary is defined as a misdemeanor in Maryland?
Q: What is the penalty for 4th degree burglary in Maryland?
A: If you are convicted, the maximum penalty for 4th degree burglary in Maryland is 3 years in jail.
Q: What should you do if charged with 4th degree burglary in Maryland?
A: Contact an attorney that represents individuals charged with crimes in Maryland. The Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, is a Baltimore, Md. based law firm that represents clients charged with crimes in Maryland. You can contact the office at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help and to schedule a same day free legal consultation to discuss your charges.
Q: Where can I find more information about burglary in Maryland?
A: You can visit some of our other blogs about burglary in Maryland:
Q: What does the State have to prove to convict you of 4th degree burglary?
A: The State can move forward with charges under a couple of different theories:
- Breaking and entering dwelling;
- Breaking and entering storehouse;
- Being in or on dwelling, storehouse, or environs;
- Possession of burglar’s tool
Q: What is the Maryland burglary laws?
A: Maryland Criminal Law 6-205:
- A person may not break and enter the dwelling of another.
- A person may not break and enter the storehouse of another.
- A person, with the intent to commit theft, may not be in or on:
- the dwelling or storehouse of another; or
- a yard, garden, or other area belonging to the dwelling or storehouse of another.
- A person may not possess a burglar’s tool with the intent to use or allow the use of the burglar’s tool in the commission of a violation of this subtitle.
- A person who violates this section is guilty of the misdemeanor of burglary in the fourth degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 3 years.