Blog

Driving on Suspended License in Maryland – Penalty for Driving on Suspended License in Maryland

Driving Motor Vehicle on Highway on Suspended License and Privilege to Drive in Maryland – Call 410-288-2900 for immediate help.

Have you been charged with driving on suspended license in Baltimore County, Harford County, Howard County, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City Maryland.  Contact the driving on suspended license defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900.

Mr. Rice is a private attorney that has helped thousands of clients defend and resolve their driving on suspended driver’s license charges.

What is the penalty for Driving on Suspended Driver’s License in Maryland?

It depends on the subsection of the traffic code that you are charged with.

Driving on suspended license penalties – $500 and 2 months. — Any person who is convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of the following sections of this article is subject to a fine of not more than $ 500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both:
§ 16-303(h) (“Licenses suspended under certain provisions of Code”);
§ 16-303(i) (“Licenses suspended under certain provisions of the traffic laws or regulations of another state”);

Driving on suspended license penalties – $1,000 and 1 year; $1,000 and 2 years. — Any person who is convicted of a violation § 16-303(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this article (“Driving while license is canceled, suspended, refused, or revoked”)
For a first offense, a fine of not more than $ 1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both; and
For any subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $ 1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.

[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’TghAajTyys4′]

Q: Is driving on suspended license in Maryland a felony or misdemeanor?

A: Driving on suspended license in Maryland is classified as a misdemeanor.

Contact a traffic ticket attorney with the Law Office of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 for immediate help.

What are my options for a driving on suspended driver’s license charge in Maryland?

You should contact a lawyer that handles these types of cases on a regular basis.  The Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., concentrates their practice on defending drivers charged with traffic violations in Maryland.

Where is the driving on suspended attorneys with the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC located?

The Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, is located at 6914 Holabird Avenue, Suite A, Dundalk, Maryland 21222.  The office is on the eastside of Baltimore County and minutes from I-95, I-695, and I-895.  You can contact the office 24/7 at 410-288-2900 or email Mr. Rice.

If I am charged with driving on suspended license, which court house do I have to appear in for my trial date?

You have to appear in the District Court for the county or city you were charged in.

Is the date on my notice the trial date or some other type of hearing for my driving on suspended license?

When the case is heard in the District Court, the date on your court notice is the trial date.  That is the date where you will have the option of entering a plea of guilty or not guilty to driving on suspended license.

Which court house in Baltimore County would I have to appear in for my driving on suspended license case?

If you are charged on the Westside of Baltimore County then you will more likely than not appear in the Catonsville District Court located at 900 Walker Avenue, Catonsville, Maryland 21228.  If you are charged with driving on suspended in the central part of Baltimore County then you will more likely than not have to appear in the Towson District Court located at 120 E. Chesapeake Avenue, Towson, Maryland 21286.   If you were caught driving on a suspended license on the eastside of Baltimore County then you will more likely than not have to appear in the Essex-Rosedale District Court at 8914 Kelso Drive, Essex, Maryland 21221.

Can I request a Jury Trial if I have been charged with driving on suspended driver’s license in Maryland?

In Maryland, if you are facing a criminal charge that carries with it a maximum penalty of more than 90 days then you have a right to a jury trial in the county where you are charged.  If you are facing the charge of 16-303 (h) then you do not have a right to a jury trial since the maximum penalty is 60 days and $500.00.  If you are facing any of the other sections of 16-303 from the Maryland Transportation code then you do have a right to a jury trial since the maximum penalty is over 90 days.

Contact a traffic ticket attorney with the Law Office of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 for immediate help.

Why would I only be charged with 16-303(h) and  not 16-303(c)?

If you are facing the charge of Driving while license is suspended under certain provisions of the transportation article 16-303(h) then the State is alleging that your license was suspended for one of four reasons: 1) You had a lapse or termination of required security on a vehicle, 2) You failed to appear for court in a State case, 3) you failed to appear for court in a Federal case, and 4) you failed to pay a fine on a previous citation(s).

How many points will I receive if I receive a guilty finding for driving on suspended license in Maryland?

If you are found guilty of 16-303(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g), then you will receive 12 points on your Maryland Driving Record.  If you are found guilty of 16-303(h) or (i) then you will receive 3 points on your Maryland Driving record.

Contact a traffic ticket attorney with the Law Office of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 for immediate help.

What are consequences of receiving points on my Maryland driving record?

Once you are found guilty of a traffic offense in Maryland and if the offense has been assigned points, then the Court in which you were convicted will forward that information to the Maryland MVA.  Once the MVA receives that information they will assign those points to you driving record.  Once you receive 3 to 4 points on the driving record then the MVA will send you a warning letter advising you of the number of points.  If you receive 5 to 7 points on your driving record in Maryland then the MVA will require you to enroll in the Driver Improvement Program (DIP).  If you receive 8 to 11 points on your Maryland driving record then the MVA will send you a notice of suspension.  If you receive 12 or more points on your Maryland driving record then the MVA will send you a notice of revocation.

When do points drop off or disappear from my Maryland Driving Records?

The points never disappear or drop off, but for the purpose of the MVA determining any action they are required to take, they will look back 2 years at your record.  So if you received tickets in 2008 that carried with then 4 points and then in 2012 you receive another conviction that results in points, the 2008 points would not be added to the 2012 points since 2 years had passed.

Who should I contact if I am facing a charge of driving on suspended license?

You should contact the driving on suspended license defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900.

Contact a traffic ticket attorney with the Law Office of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 for immediate help.  They offer a free consultation for all driving on suspended cases and will help guide you through the process, appear in court and argue the case on your behalf.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c