Blog

Driving on Suspended License Maryland

Have you been charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland?  In Maryland, there are 5 sections in the Maryland Transportation Code in which a police officer can charge you for driving on a suspended license.  Each section has a particular penalty and conditions in which the state must prove for a Judge or jury to find you guilty of driving on a suspended license.  To prove driving on a suspended license in Maryland, the State must prove a number of different things, including:

  1. That you were driving or attempting to operate a motor vehicle;
  2. That you were in facts suspended at the time of the offense;
  3. That you had knowledge that you were suspended. (This is why you want to hire a lawyer to appear in Court with you.  A lawyer can be helpful in arguing the knowledge element of driving on a suspended license in Maryland).

Call 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help and to speak with attorney Randolph Rice.  

Driving on suspended license in Maryland is a serious offense.  Often times, driver’s licenses are suspended because the driver failed to take action with a government agency, including, but not limited to:

  • Failing to pay a court fine;
  • Failing to pay child support;
  • Not paying a traffic ticket on time or not requesting a waiver hearing or trial;
  • Not paying an insurance judgment
  • Not paying a civil judgment

Penalties for Driving on Suspended License in Maryland

Maximum Court Penalties for Driving on Canceled, Suspended, Refused, or Revoked Driver’s License in Maryland (MD):

Penalty for a First Offense Driving on Suspended License in Maryland:

  • 16-303(a) Driving on Suspended License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • 16-303(c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • 16-303(f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • 16-303(h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both.
  • 16-303(i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both.

Penalty for a Second of Subsequent Driving on Suspended License in Maryland:

  • 16-303(a) Driving on Suspended License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • 16-303(c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • 16-303(f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • 16-303(h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both. (Penalty if same for First Offense)
  • 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both. (Penalty is same for First Offense)

In addition to jail and fines, the Court may also impose court costs, probation, and any special conditions of probation that must be completed during the probationary period, such as community service or driving classes.

Points that will be assigned to your Maryland driver’s license if convicted, meaning you receive a Guilty, and not a probation before judge (PBJ) for driving on suspended license in Maryland.

  • 16-303(a) Driving on Suspended License: 12 Points
  • 16-303(c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: 12 Points
  • 16-303(f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: 12 Points
  • 16-303(h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: 3 Points
  • 16-303(i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: 3 Points

If you receive too many points on your Maryland driver’s license, the Motor Vehicle Administration will take actions against your driving privilege in Maryland.

After you are convicted of a vehicle-related law violation in Maryland, the Maryland District Court or Circuit Court notifies the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) of the conviction. The MVA then applies the appropriate points to your driver record, depending on the violation you were found guilty of. Other actions taken by the MVA in response to this notification depend upon the total number of points that you have accumulated during the two-year period prior to the violation:

  • 3 to 4 points – The MVA will send you a warning letter.
  • 5 to 7 points – The MVA will require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
  • 8 to 11 points – The MVA will send you a notice of suspension.
  • 12 or more points – The MVA will send you a notice of revocation.

How long will points remain on my Maryland driving record?

Points remain on your Maryland driver’s record until they are officially expunged by the MVA. After 2 years from the violation date, the points from that violation are no longer considered active points and do not count towards your accumulation for administrative purposes.

Sources: MVA Point Accumulation

Call 410-288-2900 to speak with an attorney and schedule a free legal consultation regarding your driving on a suspended license in Maryland.

Watch Attorney Randolph Rice speak about driving on suspended licenses in Maryland

[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’TghAajTyys4′]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c