Driving with a Revoked of Suspended License Attorneys in Baltimore, Maryland
It is illegal for a person to drive a motor vehicle in Maryland while that driver’s license to drive is suspended or revoked in Maryland or any other state. If you are found guilty of driving while your license is suspended or revoked you could be facing jail time, fines, courts costs, a continuation of your suspension or revocation, or additional points on your Maryland driver’s record.
Maryland vehicle law 16-303 defines the Driving while privilege is canceled, suspended, refused, or revoked in Maryland.
There are two types of suspensions your license can fall under; a general suspension that covers all types of suspension or your license can be suspended under certain provisions of the Maryland vehicle laws.
If you receive a ticket for violation Transportation Article 16-303(c) the charges allege that you were driving a motor vehicle on any highway or any other property while your license or privilege to drive is suspended in the State of Maryland.
If you receive a ticket for violation of Transportation Article 16-303(h) the charges allege that you were driving a motor vehicle on any highway or any other property while your license or privilege to drive is suspended under Transportation Article 17-106 (Lapse of termination of required security), 26-204 (non-compliance with traffic citations, powers of the Court for noncompliance), 26-206 (noncompliance with traffic citations issued under federal law), or 27-103 (Nonpayment for fine).
Penalty for Driving on Suspended License in Maryland:
For a first conviction of Transportation Article 16-303(c) you could be facing a maximum penalty of $1,000.00 and/or 1 year in jail or both.
For a second conviction of Transportation Article 16-303(c) you could be facing a maximum penalty of $1,000.00 and/or 2 years in jail or both.
For a first conviction of Transportation Article 16-303(h) you could be facing a maximum penalty of $500.00 and/or 60 days in jail or both.
What happens After You Are Convicted in Maryland to your MVA Record?
After you are convicted of a vehicle-related law violation in Maryland, the Maryland District Court notifies the MVA of the conviction. The MVA then applies the appropriate points to your driver record. Other actions taken by the MVA in response to this notification depend upon the total number of points that you have accumulated during the two-year period prior to the violation:
3 to 4 points – The MVA will send you a warning letter.
5 to 7 points – The MVA will require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
8 to 11 points – The MVA will send you a notice of suspension.
12 or more points – The MVA will send you a notice of revocation.
If you have have been charged with Driving on Suspended License or Driving on Revoked License in Maryland, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900. We can schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and defenses possible.
Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr.