Blog

DUI Maryland

DUI Maryland – Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol in Maryland

If you’ve been charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Maryland, contact attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., to schedule a free legal consultation at (410) 288-2900 or email Mr. Rice for immediate legal help.  Same day appointments available.

What are the different types of DUI crimes in Maryland?

In Maryland, the DUI statutes are contained in the Transportation Article 21-902 of the Maryland Vehicle Law.  The sections and subsections that define the crime of driving under the influence in Maryland are:

  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol 21-902(a)(1);
  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol per se 21-902(a)(2);
  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(3).

DUI Maryland Felony or Misdemeanor.

Q: Is driving while under the influence of alcohol (DUI) a felony or misdemeanor or felony in Maryland?

A: Driving while under the influence is defined as a misdemeanor in Maryland.

[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’zVZEQJ1V2dI’]

Penalties and Fines for Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol 21-902(a)(1)

DUI Maryland First Offense

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a first offense driving while under the influence 21-902(a)(1) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a first offense for driving while under the influence 21-902(a)(1) is Maryland is One (1) year in jail or a fine of not more than $1000.00, or both.

DUI Maryland 2nd Offense

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a second offense driving while under the influence 21-902(a)(1) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a second offense for driving while under the influence 21-902(a)(1) is Maryland is Two (2) years in jail or a fine of not more than $2000.00, or both.

DUI Maryland 3rd Offense

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a third or subsequent offense driving while under the influence 21-902(a)(1) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a third or subsequent offense for driving while under the influence 21-902(a)(1) is Maryland is Three (3) years in jail or a fine of not more than $3000.00, or both.

Penalties and Fines for Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol Per Se 21-902(a)(2)

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a first offense driving while under the influence per se 21-902(a)(2) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a first offense for driving while under the influence per se 21-902(a)(2) is Maryland is One (1) year in jail or a fine of not more than $1000.00or both.

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a second offense driving while under the influence per se 21-902(a)(2) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a second offense for driving while under the influence per se 21-902(a)(2) is Maryland is Two (2) years in jail or a fine of not more than $2000.00, or both.

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a third or subsequent offense driving while under the influence per se 21-902(a)(2) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a third or subsequent offense for driving while under the influence per se 21-902(a)(2) is Maryland is Three (3) years in jail or a fine of not more than $3000.00, or both.

Penalties and Fines for Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(3)

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a first offense driving while under the influence while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(3) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a first offense for driving while under the influence while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(2) is Maryland is Two (2) years in jail or a fine of not more than $2000.00or both.

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a second offense driving while under the influence while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(3) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a second offense for driving while under the influence while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(3) is Maryland is Three (3) years in jail or a fine of not more than $3000.00, or both.

Q: What is the maximum penalty for a third or subsequent offense driving while under the influence while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(3) in Maryland?

A: The maximum penalty a third or subsequent offense for driving while under the influence while transporting a minor 21-902(a)(3) is Maryland is Four (4) years in jail or a fine of not more than $4000.00, or both.

DUI Maryland: Points on your Driving Record

Q: Will I received points on my Maryland driving record for driving while under the influence of alcohol in Maryland?

A: If you receive a Probation before judgment “PBJ”, you will not receive points on your Maryland driving record.  However, if you receive a guilt finding for a disposition, then you will receive the following points on your Maryland driving record:

  • 21-902(a)(1) – 12 points;
  • 21-902(a)(2) – 12 points;
  • 21-902(a)(3) – 12 points;

DUI Maryland: Who do I call?

Q: What should I do if I am arrested and charged with Driving while under the influence of alcohol in Maryland?

A: As soon after you are charged with DUI and released by the police you need to contact an experienced and trusted DUI attorney in Maryland.  If you are charged with DUI in:

  • Baltimore County, Md.
  • Baltimore City, Md.
  • Harford County, Md.
  • Howard County, Md.
  • Anne Arundel County, Md.
  • Worcester County, Md.
  • Ocean City, Maryland.

Call the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 or email the office for immediate legal help.

When you call the office, you will be able to schedule a FREE, no-obligation consultation with an attorney.  We offer same day appointments and if you are unable to travel to the office, we can conduct most of the legal work by phone, email or fax.

DUI – Driving While Under the Influence Attorneys in Maryland

The crime of driving while under the influence in Maryland can be charged under three (3) different statutes, depending on the facts of the case and the evidence collected by the police officer(s).

Probation if convicted of Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol in Maryland

In addition to facing possible jail time and hefty fines, District Court Judges can place you on probation from One (1) day to Three (3) years whereas Circuit Court Judges can place you on probation from One (1) day to Five (5) years in the State of Maryland.  Probation may require you to check in on a regular basis on a daily, weekly, monthly or yearly schedule.  In addition, the Judge can order you to complete the following tasks during probation:

  • Report as directed by your probation agent;
  • Pay parole and probation (P&P) fees;
  • Work or attend school regularly as directed;
  • Get permission before changing your address or leaving the State of Maryland;
  • Obey all laws and incur no serious motor violations;
  • Notify your agent if you are charged with a jailable offense.
  • Do not possess, use, or sell any illegal drugs;
  • Appear in Court when notified to do so.
  • Abstain from the use of alcohol;
  • Submit to drug and alcohol testing;
  • Attend a MADD victim impact course;
  • Have ignition interlock installed on your vehicle;
  • Enroll and complete drug or alcohol treatment;
  • Any other condition the Judge deems appropriate.

Probation can be supervised or unsupervised in Maryland and that depends on the Judge, what your lawyer has negotiated and what you have completed before your trial date. Supervised probation requires you to appear at one of the Maryland Department of Parole and Probation offices located around the State of Maryland.

Why Choose the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC for your Driving While Under the Influence Defense

Driving while under the influence of alcohol cases can be complicated, thus you want an attorney and law firm that has handled thousands of DUI cases in Maryland.  Attorney Randolph Rice is ranked by Super Lawyers as a Maryland Rising Star.  He is also a former Assistant State’s Attorney for Baltimore County.

If you have been charged or arrested for driving while under the influence of alcohol in Maryland, you need an experienced, skilled, trusted, and knowledgeable DUI defense attorney. Without the assistance and help of an experienced attorney, you have little chance of winning your case if it goes to trial.

At the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, we will conduct a thorough investigation of your case.  We have the ability to investigate the witnesses and victims of each assault case in Maryland.  We will subpoena and summons the needed witnesses to best defend your case.  We will formulate the most appropriate argument for your DUI defense and ensure that the Judge or jury hear the facts as they really happened.

Often, the law enforcement agencies or States Attorney’s office for the county you are charged in will overlook an aspect of the case, if this happen, we will find other witnesses or evidence to present to the Court or state’s attorney’s office to support your case. We will work with you and fight for your rights and freedom.

Don’t Go to Court Alone.  A driving while under the influence of alcohol can affect the rest of your life. You could spend years in jail, pay expensive fines, Court costs and regret not having a professional and experience assault defense attorney advising you on the best decisions in your case. Call Attorney Randolph Rice at 410.288.2900 to schedule a FREE criminal defense consultation. We have years of experience and have helped thousands of client, let our experience got to work for you in the Courtroom.

View Randolph speak on Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol in Maryland

[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’QjvejBc1c9k’]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *