Blog

FAQ For Driving on Suspended or Revoked License in Maryland

Maryland Traffic Ticket Attorney | Traffic Violation Lawyer in Baltimore

What are some of the most common questions we get from our clients in regards to driving on a suspended or revoked license in Maryland?

Q: What is driving on a revoked license in Maryland?

A: Driving on a revoked license in Maryland is a traffic violation in Maryland.  It is classified a crime in the Maryland Transportation Article 16-303(d) and 16-303(g).

Q: What is driving on a suspended license in Maryland?

A: Driving on a suspended license in Maryland is a traffic violation. It is classified as a crime under the Maryland Transportation Article 16-303(c), 16-303(f) and 16-303(h).  16-303(h) is the less serious offense and 16-303(c) and 16-303(f) are the more serious crimes.

Q: Is driving on a revoked license in Maryland a misdemeanor or felony?

A: Driving with or on a revoked license in Maryland is classified as a misdemeanor.

Q: Is driving on a suspended license in Maryland a misdemeanor or felony in Maryland?

A: Driving on a suspended license in Maryland is classified as a misdemeanor in Maryland.

Q: What does driving on a suspended license in Maryland mean?

A: Driving on a suspended license means you are operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle in Maryland and while doing so your privilege to drive in Maryland or in another State is suspended by the Motor Vehicle Administration of Maryland or the other State.

Q: What does driving on a revoked license in Maryland mean?

A: Driving on a revoked license means you are operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle in Maryland and while doing so your privilege to drive in Maryland or in another State is revoked by the Motor Vehicle Administration of Maryland or the other State.

Q: What is the penalty for driving on a revoked license in Maryland?

A: If you are convicted of driving on a revoked license, then the maximum penalty for driving on a revoked license in Maryland is 12 months in jail a $1000 fine or both.

Q: What is the penalty for driving with a suspended license in Maryland?

A: If you are convicted for driving on a suspended license in Maryland, then it depends on the section of the Transportation Article that you are found guilty of. If it is a 16-303(h) conviction, then the maximum penalty is 60 days in jail and or a $500 fine. If it is 16-303(c) or 16-303(f), then the maximum penalty is 12 months in jail and or a $1000 fine.

Q: Do I need a lawyer for driving on a suspended or revoked license in Maryland?

A: If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license or driving with a revoked license then you should retain and attorney to represent you. Anytime you are required to appear in Court and their is the potential for incarceration, you should hire a traffic ticket lawyer to defend your case and protect your rights.

Q: Will I get points on my driving record if I am charged with driving on a revoked license?

A: If you are found guilty then 12 points will be assigned to your Maryland driving record.  If you receive a Probation Before Judgment (“PBJ”), then the MVA will not access points to your driving record.

Q: Will I receive points on my driving record if I am charged with driving with a suspended license?

A: : If you are found guilty of 16-303(c) or 16-303(f) then 12 points will be assigned to your Maryland driving record. If you are found guilty of 16-303(h) then 3 points will be assigned to your Maryland Driving Record.  If you receive a Probation Before Judgment (“PBJ”), then the MVA will not access points to your driving record.

Q: Will I receive probation for driving on a revoked or suspended license?

A: If you are found guilty or received a PBJ for driving on a revoked or suspended license in Maryland, the Judge can place you on probation.  The length of the probation is up to the Judge and can range from 1 day to 3 years in the District Court and 1 day to 5 years in the Circuit Court.  The Judge can also decide to place you on supervised or unsupervised probation, depending on your background, driving record and the facts of your case.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a revoked license or driving on a suspended license in Maryland, contact traffic ticket defense attorney Randolph Rice at 410.288.2900 to schedule a free consultation and to discuss your case and possible defenses.

randolph rice

Q: Can I go to jail for driving on a suspended license in Maryland?

A: Yes, you can go to jail for driving on a suspended license in Maryland. But, there are numerous defenses to driving on a suspended license in Maryland. That is why is is so important to hire a lawyer to defend your case in Court.

Q: Is my license suspended in Maryland?

A: That is a question that can only be answered by the Maryland MVA. If you believe your license is suspended for failure to comply or some other reason, you should contact the MVA as soon as possible or order a copy of your driving record to determine if you are suspended or revoked in Maryland.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c