Maryland DUI Attorney Randolph Rice explains the basics of a DUI in Maryland. If you’ve been charged with DUI in Maryland, contact the office at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help.
[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’QjvejBc1c9k’]
The Basics of a Maryland DUI
DUI is an acronym for “Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol.” In Maryland, you can also be charged with DWI “Driving while impaired by alcohol, drugs, or controlled dangerous substance.”
Penalty for a Maryland DUI
Any person who is convicted of a DUI (“Driving while under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of alcohol per se”) in Maryland is subject to the following penalties:
First Offense DUI
- For a first offense, a fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both;
Second Offense DUI
- For a second offense DUI, a fine of not more than $2,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both; and
Third or Subsequent Offense DUI
- For a third or subsequent offense DUI, a fine of not more than $3,000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both.
Mandatory Penalty for a Maryland DUI
- A person who is convicted of a violation of a DUI within 5 years after a prior conviction under that subsection is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days.
- A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent DUI within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days.
MVA Point Assessment for a Maryland DUI
- The MVA will assess 12 points to person’s driving record if that person is convicted of a violation of a Maryland DUI.
- If a driver accumulates 12 or more points on their driving record, that driver’s privilege to drive will be revoked.
Call Maryland DUI Attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 or email the office for immediate DUI help.