Blog

MVA Hearing Maryland

MVA Hearing Maryland, should you request a MVA hearing in Maryland after a DUI or DWI arrest?  Don’t mail in your form until you speak with an attorney.  You may not need to request a

If you are facing a DUI charge in Maryland, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help and advice.  You can also email the office for legal help.

That all depends on the fasts of your DUI case, if you submitted to a breath or blood test and if you did, what was the results of your breath or blood tests.

Your case may not be at the OAH in Hunt Valley, you may have to appear at one of the other OAH hearing locations. Make sure you check your notice to confirm your location.

You want to contact a DUI attorney as soon after you have been charged with DUI or DWI in Maryland.  An attorney can guide you through the process and help you decide if you should or should not send in your MVA Hearing Request Form.

MVA Hearing Maryland

If you have a DUI charge, you have to make some decisions soon after the arrest to that will affect your privilege to drive a motor vehicle in Maryland.

To request an MVA hearing in Maryland you must mail the form that was given to you by the police officer.  That form is labeled DR-15A on the front of the form.  There are two pieces of white paper that the police officer will give to you.  Those pieces of paper are your temporary license.  On the back of one of the pieces of paper is the information and instructions to participate in the ignition interlock program.  On the back of the other piece of paper is the “MVA Hearing Request” form.

If you decide that you want a MVA hearing, then you must mail that form, along with $150.00 check or money order made payable to “Maryland State Treasurer” to the Office of Administrative Hearings at 11101 Gilroy Road, Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031-1301.

Below is a map to the OAH in Hunt Valley Maryland


There are time restrictions for mailing the form:

  • If your form and check are postmarked within 10 days of being issued, then your suspension will nor take affect before the scheduled hearing date.  The hearing date could be 30 days after the request or 3 months, it depends on how busy the dockets at the OAH are at the time of the request.
  • If your form and check are postmarked 11 to 30 days of being issued, then the hearing will be scheduled without 45 days upon receipt of the hearing request.  Your suspension will take affect on the 46th day from the Order of Suspension issue date.
  • If your form and check are postmarked after 30 days of being issued, then the request will be denied and the suspension will take effect on the 46th day from the Order of Suspension issue date.

Does this all sound very confusing?  It is and that is why you want to hire an attorney to handle the whole process for you.

Call attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help after a DUI or DWI charge in Maryland.

Other important factors when considering a MVA hearing request:

  • There are limited situations when you can challenge a license suspension or restriction after a DUI or DWI arrest in Maryland.
  • Based on your age, under 21, you may have multiple hearings.
  • You may not need to request a hearing depending on your breath or blood results.
  • You may waste you money by requesting a hearing if you don’t plan.

Make sure you receive sound legal advice when considering a MVA hearing in Maryland.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c