Blog

Suspended License in Maryland – Maryland Suspended License Attorneys – Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC

Suspended License in Maryland

Call the Maryland Suspended License Attorney, G. Randolph Rice, Jr. – (410) 288-2900

You can also email the office 24/7.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a canceled, suspended, refused or revoked license in Maryland, call the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 to schedule a free consultation.  We can review your case and determine the best defense.

If you are facing driving on a canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in Maryland, don’t go to court alone.  The State’s Attorney and Judges in Maryland considered these offenses serious and often sentence defendants to jail.

Call the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., today at (410) 288-2900 for immediate help in Maryland. 

Suspended License Attorneys in Baltimore, Maryland, Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, was founded by former Assistant State’s Attorney, G. Randolph Rice, Jr.   Mr. Rice is ranked by Super Lawyers as a 2013 Rising Star in Maryland.

The Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, represents clients charged with driving on a canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in:

  • Baltimore County;
  • Baltimore City;
  • Harford County;
  • Howard County;
  • Anne Arundel County;
  • Worcester County; and
  • Ocean City, Maryland.

Penalty for Driving on Canceled, Suspended, Refused, or Revoked License in Maryland

1st Driving on Canceled, Suspended, Refused or Revoked License Conviction in Maryland (Maryland Transportation Code Section 16-303(a) – 16-303(g):

Jail – Up to 1 year
Fine – Up to $1,000.00
MVA Points – 12 Points

2nd or Subsequent Driving on Canceled, Suspended, Refused or Revoked License Conviction in Maryland:

Jail – Up to 2 years
Fine – Up to $1,000.00
MVA Points – 12 Points

1st Driving on Canceled, Suspended, Refused or Revoked License Conviction in Maryland (Maryland Transportation Code Section 16-303(h) – 16-303(i):

Jail – Up to 60 days
Fine – Up to $500.00
MVA Points – 3 Points

Must Appear for driving on canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in Maryland.

If you have been charged with driving on canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in Maryland, you must appear in court.  These types of charges are heard in the District Court in the county in which the tickets were issued.  Your must appear tickets may have been issued with other payable traffic tickets.  If you have a must appear ticket issued, then you do not have to pay the payable tickets.  Those tickets will be heard at the same time as the must appear tickets.

Sections of Maryland Transportation Code for driving on a canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in Maryland:

Driving Motor Vehicle on Canceled License in Maryland: Maryland Transportation Code §16-303(b), §16-303(e)

Driving Motor Vehicle on Suspended License in Maryland: Maryland Transportation Code § 16-303(c), §16-303(f), §16-303(h), §16-303(i)

Driving Motor Vehicle on Refused License in Maryland: Maryland Transportation Code §16-303(a)

Driving Motor Vehicle on Revoked License in Maryland: Maryland Transportation Code §16-303(d), §16-303(g)

Lawyer for Suspended License Ticket in Maryland, call the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at (410) 288-2900.

Maryland Transportation Code § 16-303. Driving while privilege is canceled, suspended, refused, or revoked.

(a) Refused licenses. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is refused in this State or any other state.
(b) Canceled licenses. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is canceled in this State.
(c) Suspended licenses generally. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended in this State.
(d) Revoked licenses. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is revoked in this State.
(e) Licenses canceled by other states. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is canceled.
(f) Licenses suspended by other states. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is suspended.
(g) Licenses revoked by other states. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is revoked.
(h) Licenses suspended under certain provisions of article. — A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under § 17-106, § 26-204, § 26-206, or § 27-103 of this article.
(i) License suspended by another state for failure to appear or pay fine. —
(1) This subsection applies only to a person whose license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of another state for:
(i) Failure to comply with a notice to appear in a court of that state contained in a traffic citation issued to the person; or
(ii) Failure to pay a fine for a violation of any traffic laws or regulations of that state.
(2) A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of any other state as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection.

MVA Points Associated with a conviction for driving on canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in Maryland.

Maryland Transportation Code § 16-402. Assessment of points 

(a) Points enumerated. — After the conviction of an individual for a violation of Title 2, Subtitle 5, § 2-209, or § 3-211 of the Criminal Law Article, or of the vehicle laws or regulations of this State or of any local authority, points shall be assessed against the individual as of the date of violation and as follows:

Any violation of § 16-303(h) or (i) of this title – 3 points

Any violation of § 16-303 of this title, excluding § 16-303(h) or (i) – 12 points

(b) Point assessment on multiple charge conviction. — If a conviction occurs on multiple charges based on offenses alleged to have been committed at the same time or arising out of circumstances simultaneous in time and place, the Administration:
(1) Shall assess points against the individual convicted only on the charge that has the highest point assessment; and
(2) May not assess points on the remainder of the multiple charges.

Is a conviction for driving on a canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in Maryland misdemeanor or felony?

Driving on a canceled, suspended, refused or revoked driver’s license in Maryland is classified as a misdemeanor.

Maryland Transportation Code § 27-101. Penalties for misdemeanor

(a) Violation of vehicle laws a misdemeanor. — It is a misdemeanor for any person to violate any of the provisions of the Maryland Vehicle Law unless the violation:
(1) Is declared to be a felony by the Maryland Vehicle Law or by any other law of this State; or
(2) Is punishable by a civil penalty under the applicable provision of the Maryland Vehicle Law.

Penalty for Violation of Maryland Transportation §16-303 (h) and (i)

(c) Penalties — $500 and 2 months. — Any person who is convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of the following sections of this article is subject to a fine of not more than $ 500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both:
(12) § 16-303(h) (“Licenses suspended under certain provisions of Code”);
(13) § 16-303(i) (“Licenses suspended under certain provisions of the traffic laws or regulations of another state”);

Penalty for Violation of Maryland Transportation §16-303 (a)-(g)

(h) Penalties — $1,000 and 1 year; $1,000 and 2 years. — Any person who is convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of § 16-113(k) of this article (“Ignition Interlock System Program participant driving vehicle without ignition interlock”), § 16-303(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this article (“Driving while license is canceled, suspended, refused, or revoked”), § 17-107 of this article (“Prohibitions”), or § 17-110 of this article (“Providing false evidence of required security”) is subject to:

(1) For a first offense, a fine of not more than $ 1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both; and

(2) For any subsequent offense, a fine of not more than $ 1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.

Helpful Links to Maryland Motor Vehicle Administrative

Suspension for a Traffic Citation in Maryland

Maryland Traffic Citation Information from the District Court of Maryland

Paying Traffic Citations in Maryland

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c