Blog

Theft in Maryland – Criminal Lawyer in Baltimore Md Explains Theft Crimes in Maryland

Theft in Maryland – A guide to theft crimes in Maryland

Under the Maryland criminal laws, theft and related crimes are covered in Title 7 of the Maryland Code.

That title includes such crimes as:

  • Theft;
  • Motor vehicle theft;
  • Bad Checks; and
  • Embezzlement;

Most of the times, people in Maryland charged with theft would fall under the section 7-104 (General theft provisions)

There are a number of different theories in which the State will proceed in a theft case, the most common are:

  • Unauthorized control over property;
  • Unauthorized control over property – by deception;
  • Possessing stolen property; and
  • Control over property lost, mislaid, or delivered by mistake.

If you are charged and convicted of theft in Maryland, the following is a break down penalty for theft in Maryland:

If a person is convicted of theft of property or services with a value of:

  • at least $ 1,000 but less than $ 10,000 is guilty of a felony and:
  • is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $ 10,000 or both; and
  • shall restore the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property or services;
  • at least $ 10,000 but less than $ 100,000 is guilty of a felony and:
  • is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 15 years or a fine not exceeding $ 15,000 or both; and
  • shall restore the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property or services; or
  • $ 100,000 or more is guilty of a felony and:
  • is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 25 years or a fine not exceeding $ 25,000 or both; and shall restore the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property or services.
  • a person convicted of theft of property or services with a value of less than $ 1,000, is guilty of a misdemeanor and:
  • is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 18 months or a fine not exceeding $ 500 or both; and
  • shall restore the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property or services.
  • A person convicted of theft of property or services with a value of less than $ 100 is guilty of a misdemeanor and:
  • is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 90 days or a fine not exceeding $ 500 or both; and
  • shall restore the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property or services.

If you’ve been charged with theft in Maryland, call the Maryland criminal lawyer, G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 to schedule a free consultation or email the office directly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *