What is the Penalty for Driving on a Suspended Driver’s License in Maryland
If you are facing a trial date for any section of Transportation Article 16-303 in Maryland, call me, attorney Randolph Rice, at (410) 288-2900 for immediate legal help and to schedule a FREE legal consultation.
I am a Maryland attorney that represents clients in the areas of:
- Traffic Tickets;
- Criminal Law;
- Traffic Violations;
What is the penalty for driving on suspended license in Maryland?
If you are charged and convicted of section:
- 16-303(f); or
And it is your first offense, the maximum penalty is 1 year in jail and/or $1,000.00 fine.
If you are charged with:
- 16-303(h); or
and it is your first offense, the maximum penalty is 60 days in jail and/or $500.00 fine.
So, will the Judge put you in jail for a first offense:
- Driving While Suspended;
- Driving While Canceled;
- Driving While Expired; or
- Driving While Revoked.
It depends on the Judge and circumstances surrounding your case. I would say that if you hire a lawyer, one that is familiar with the Courts and State’s Attorneys, and handle traffic cases, then you have a high probability of no jail and maybe even a not guilty.
Q:Is driving while suspended a misdemeanor or felony?
A: Driving while suspended, canceled, revoked, and canceled are misdemeanors.
Driving While Suspended Lawyer in Maryland
Lawyers, like myself, that practice criminal and traffic law in Maryland, are able to argue the fine points of the traffic code that may result in a not guilty.
I am a former prosecutor and have been representing clients charged with driving while suspended, revoked, canceled and expired for years and have had thousands of cases.
I am a:
- Baltimore County traffic lawyer;
- Baltimore City traffic lawyer;
- Harford County traffic lawyer;
- Howard County traffic lawyer
- Anne Arundel County traffic lawyer; and
- Ocean City, Maryland traffic lawyer.
Call my office today to schedule a free consultation. You can also email me at RiceLawMd@gmail.com.