Blog

What is the penalty for driving while driver’s license in canceled, suspended, refused or revoked in Maryland?

What is the penalty for driving while driver’s license is canceled, suspended, refused or revoked in Maryland?

If you’ve been charged with driving while privilege is:

  • Canceled;
  • Suspended;
  • Refused; or
  • Revoked.

In Maryland, you need to contact an experienced and trusted attorney to assist you in Court and help resolve the matter with the best possible outcome.  Contact attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 for immediate legal help in Maryland.

The Maryland Transportation Code Ann. § 16-303 (Revised October 1, 2013) provides the law in regards to driving while privilege is canceled, suspended, refused or revoked.

§ 16-303. Driving while privilege is canceled, suspended, refused or revoked 

(a) Refused licenses. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is refused in this State or any other state.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(a) Refused Licenses:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or One (1) year in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or Two (2) years in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (a) Refused License:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 12 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a refused license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(b) Canceled licenses. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is canceled in this State.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(b) Canceled Licenses:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or One (1) year in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or Two (2) years in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (b) Canceled Licenses:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 12 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a canceled license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(c) Suspended licenses generally. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended in this State.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(c) Suspended Licenses Generally:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or One (1) year in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or Two (2) years in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (c) Suspended Licenses Generally:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 12 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(d) Revoked licenses. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is revoked in this State.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(d) Revoked Licenses:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or One (1) year in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or Two (2) years in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (d) Revoked Licenses:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 12 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a revoked license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(e) Licenses canceled by other states. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is canceled.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(e) Canceled Licenses by other States:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or One (1) year in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or Two (2) years in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (e) Canceled Licenses by other States:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 12 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a canceled license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(f) Licenses suspended by other states. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is suspended.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(f) Suspended Licenses by other States:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or One (1) year in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or Two (2) years in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (f) Suspended Licenses by other States:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 12 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(g) Licenses revoked by other states. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is revoked.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(g) Revoked Licenses by other States:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or One (1) year in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $1,000.00 fine and/or Two (2) years in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (g) Revoked Licenses by other States:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 12 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a revoked license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(h) Licenses suspended under certain provisions of article. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under § 17-106 (lapse or termination of required security), § 26-204 (noncompliance with traffic citations), § 26-206 (noncompliance with Federal traffic citation), or § 27-103 (nonpayment of fines) of this article.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(h) Suspended Licenses under certain provisions:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $500.00 fine and/or Sixty (60) days in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $500.00 fine and/or Sixty (60) days in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (h) Suspended Licenses under certain provisions:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 3 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

(i) License suspended by another state for failure to appear or pay fine.

(1) This subsection applies only to a person whose license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of another state for:
(i) Failure to comply with a notice to appear in a court of that state contained in a traffic citation issued to the person; or
(ii) Failure to pay a fine for a violation of any traffic laws or regulations of that state.
(2) A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of any other state as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection.

Penalty for conviction of § 16-303(i) Suspended Licenses by another State for failure to appear or pay fine:

  • 1st Offense: Maximum $500.00 fine and/or Sixty (60) days in jail.
  • 2nd or Subsequent Offense: Maximum $500.00 fine and/or Sixty (60) days in jail.

Assessment of Points for conviction of $16-303 (i) Suspended Licenses by another State for failure to appear or pay fine:

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess 3 points to the driver’s record.

If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland, call defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

For updates to the Maryland Transportation article and more information, please visit the Google+ Page for Attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., or the Google+ Page for the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC.

Do you need to find your court date in Maryland, click here for the Maryland Judiciary Case Search.  Agree to the first page and then once on the search page, enter your last name and first name.  If you cannot find your case, then enter the case number of citation number at the bottom of the search page.

Once you find your case or you know your court date, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, and speak with attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr.  You can contact the office at (410) 288-2900 and schedule a free consultation.

If you missed your court date and the Court issued a bench warrant for your arrest, contact the office and we can file various motions to lift the bench warrant and have a new trial date scheduled for your case.

Don’t wait until the last minute, a conviction can haunt you for the rest of your life.  Too many points on your record can prevent you from obtaining or renewing your license and your insurance company may increase your premiums with a conviction.

If you’ve received a traffic ticket in Maryland, call the defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at (410) 288-2900 or email for immediate legal help.

The Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, represents clients facing charges in:

  • Baltimore County, Md.;
  • Harford County, Md.;
  • Howard County, Md.;
  • Baltimore City, Md.;
  • Anne Arundel County, Md.; and
  • Worcester County, Md., Maryland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c