If you’ve been charged with harassment in Maryland, we can help! Harassment charges are cases with emotion. Perhaps you had a relationship with the alleged victim and feel like the law is taking things out of context. We want to help you clear your name and assure you get fair treatment while caught up in the Maryland legal system.
What are Maryland’s Harassment Laws & Penalties?
Maryland has many categories of harassment, each with it’s own potential recommended sentence.
Generally harassment involves the following or maliciously engaging in a course of conduct with the intent to annoy or alarm another. This offense is a misdemeanor and punishable by up to 90 days in jail and $500 in fines.
Harassment by phone is making:
- An anonymous call to harass, annoy, embarrass, or torment another,
- Repeated calls to harass, annoy, embarrass, or torment, or
- A call that includes a comment, suggestion or proposal that is lewd, lascivious, or indecent.
Harassment by phone is a misdemeanor charge that carries a potential sentence of up to 3 years in prison and fines reaching $500.
Harassment by email involves using email to harass one or more people by sending lewd, lascivious, or obscene material. This harassment offense is also a misdemeanor but is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and fines reaching $500.
Don’t Go to Court Alone. A criminal conviction can affect the rest of your life. You could spend years in jail, pay fines, Court costs and regret not having a professional attorney advising you on the best decisions in your criminal case. Call Attorney Randolph Rice at (410) 694-7291 to schedule a FREE criminal defense consultation. We have years of experience and we can put that knowledge to work in your criminal case.
View Randolph speak on Criminal Defense