Pasadena, Maryland is an area located in Anne Arundel County. As of the 2010 census the population was at 24,287 people. Whether you are one of the 24,287 people that live in Pasadena, Maryland or was just passing through and you were charged with an impaired driving offense, the Law Offices of Randolph Rice can help you. We understand that being charged with a DUI is a petrifying occurrence. You may be wondering what will happen to your job and how you will pay for the court-imposed sanctions. When you talk to a Pasadena DUI lawyer we will help you and walk you through the process.
If you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI):
- For a first offense, you face up to a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail. Twelve (12) points will be assessed on your driving record and your license may be revoked for up to six (6) months.
- For a second offense, you face a $2,000 fine and up to two years imprisonment (with a mandatory minimum of five days). Twelve (12) points will be assessed on your license and your license may be revoked for up to one year.
- For two convictions within five years, a mandatory period of suspension will be followed by a minimum required period of participation in the Ignition Interlock Program.
If you are convicted of Driving while Impaired by Alcohol (DWI):
- For a first offense, you face up to a $500 fine and up to two months imprisonment. Eight (8) points will be assessed on your driving record, and you face a 6-month license suspension. If this conviction is the result of a driver under 21, you will face a 1-year suspension.
- For a second DWI offense, you face up to a $500 fine and up to one year imprisonment. Eight (8) points will be assessed on your driving record, and you face a license suspension of 9 to 12 months.
On top of paying fines and serving possible jail time, the points assessed to your license can be significant. If enough points are assessed on your license, your license may be revoked. This means that you will not be able to drive. Once you do get your license back, the points can drastically increase your insurance prices, making it impossible for some people to be able to afford to drive.
With so much on the line, why risk going to court alone? Call a Pasadena DUI lawyer to help fight for you.
Ignition Interlock System
Ignition Interlock is a device that is installed in vehicles that prevents drivers from operating the vehicle while impaired by alcohol. The driver must blow into the device and if his or her breath alcohol level exceeds the accepted level set on the device, the vehicle will not start.
According to the Maryland MVA, when installed, interlocks are associated with about a 70 percent reduction in arrest rates for impaired driving.
In 2011 Maryland implemented the Drunk Driving Reduction Act. The Act was implemented on October 1, 2011 and expanded Maryland’s Ignition Interlock program by requiring more drivers to participate.
Participants in this program must have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in their vehicle, obtain an ignition interlock-restricted license and must successfully complete their assigned period of participation before they may regain full licensure after a DUI conviction.
Maryland again passed legislation in 2016 known as Noah’s Law which requires drivers to participate in the Ignition Interlock System for the following convictions:
- DWI while transporting a minor under the age of 16
- Driving while intoxicated with an initial breathalyzer refusal and
- Homicide or life-threatening injury by a motor vehicle while DUI or DWI
Once you opt in or have been ordered to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program you must contact one of the MVA’s authorized Ignition Interlock Service Providers to schedule an appointment to have the device installed. If you have been required to install an ignition interlock system and have more questions, you should contact the Law Offices of Randolph Rice. We are an experienced Pasadena DUI lawyer that will help you figure out what the next step should be after you are charged with a DUI.
Violation of License Restrictions
License restrictions are listed on the back of your license. For drivers under the age of 21 there is a restriction that makes it illegal for anyone 20 or younger to have a BAC of 02 or higher.
There is also an alcohol restriction for all drivers that requires that if pulled over, you submit to a chemical test when an officer suspects that you may be driving under the influence. Of course, there may be non-alcohol related restrictions, such as the requirement to wear glasses when you drive if they are required.
If you receive a citation for violating a driving restriction you may be wondering what will happen next. Well for non-alcohol related citations you may have to go to court and/or pay a fine.
However, for alcohol related violations your license may be suspended or revoked immediately. For example, if you refuse to take a chemical test at the time of being pulled over the police officer will confiscate your driver’s license and issue to you a temporary license.
You will also be given an Officer’s certification and order of suspension that will provide you with information about the incident and pending suspension.
Violating the restrictions on your license can lead to severe penalties. If you are accustomed to driving everywhere, having your license revoked can be life changing. If you are facing such consequences contact a Pasadena DUI Lawyer immediately.
Let a Pasadena DUI Lawyer Help You
When you are charged with an impaired driving offense such as a DUI or DWI, you are looking at severe punishments. DUIs are prosecuted heavily in the state of Maryland. So, if you have been charged with a DUI, don’t fight the charges alone.
Allow a Pasadena DUI attorney to help you with the process. Call the Law Offices of Randolph Rice for a free consultation today.