Driving or Attempting to Drive Vehicle While Under the Influence of Alcohol in Maryland
Have you been charged with Driving or Attempting to Drive a Vehicle While Under the Influence of Alcohol in Maryland? Call me, attorney Randolph Rice, at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help. I am a former prosecutor and can help you resolve your DUI or DWI with a favorable result. Click here to contact attorney Randolph Rice by email.
Call my office at 410-288-2900 for immediate DUI and DWI legal help in Maryland
What are the penalties for a DUI in Maryland?
If you are convicted of driving or attempting to drive a vehicle while under the influence (“DUI”) in Maryland, the penalties are:
- 1st Offense: 1 year in jail and/or $1,000.00 fine;
- 2nd Offense: 2 years in jail and/or $2,000.00 fine; and
- 3rd or Subsequent Offense: 3 years in jail and/or $3,000.00 fine.
What are the penalties for a DWI in Maryland?
If you are convicted of driving or attempting to drive a vehicle while impaired by alcohol (“DWI”) in Maryland, the penalties are:
- 1st Offense: 60 days in jail and/or $500.00 fine; and
- 2nd or Subsequent Offense: 1 year in jail and/or $1,000.00 fine.
What is the difference between a DUI and DWI in Maryland?
The difference between a DUI and DWI in Maryland is the level of intoxication and more importantly, the level of intoxication the State can convince a Judge or Jury you are under while driving or attempting to operate a motor vehicle. The Maryland Transportation Article defines DUI as any blood alcohol content reading at or above .08. Therefore, if you take a breath or blood test and you results are above .08, then the State will try and proceed with the DUI charge.
How many MVA points will I receive on my driving record for a DUI conviction in Maryland?
If you are convicted of DUI in Maryland, you will receive 12 points on the Maryland Driving Record. If you received a probation before judgment (“PBJ”) then you will not receive MVA points on your driving record. Click here for a guide to MVA points in Maryland.
How many MVA points will I receive on my driving record for a DWI conviction in Maryland?
If you are convicted of DWI in Maryland, you will receive 8 points on your Maryland Driving Record. Again, if you receive a PBJ, then you will not be assessed points on your driving record in Maryland.
Who are the “Best” DUI / DWI Lawyers in Maryland?
The Best DUI Lawyers in Maryland are defined by their experience and ability to navigate the Courts and different hearings associated with a DUI or DWI charge in Maryland.
The best DUI and DWI Lawyers should have these important qualities:
- Of the cases they have handled in the past, a large proportion of those case should be DUI and DWI related or criminal law in nature;
- They should practice in the jurisdiction where you are charged, don’t hire a lawyer in Western Maryland for a case in Ocean City.
- The lawyer should be familiar with the State’s Attorneys in the County or city where your case is being heard.
- They have a good understanding of the current DUI and DWI laws in Maryland.
- You are comfortable with their style and you are confident that they will look our for your best interest.
I handle the following types of case:
- Baltimore County DUI/DWI;
- Baltimore City DUI/DWI;
- Harford County DUI/DWI;
- Howard County DUI/DWI;
- Anne Arundel DUI/DWI; and
- Ocean City, Maryland DUI/DWI.
Call my office today to schedule a free consultation at 410-288-2900.
Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC