DUI Maryland First Offense
DUI Maryland First Offense PBJ
Call me, attorney Randolph Rice, at (410) 288-29 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your DUI in Maryland.
Did you received a DUI and this is your first offense? You may be eligible for a PBJ (Probation before judgment) if this is your first DUI in Maryland. PBJ is not a finding of guilty and does not appear on your driving record and is not visible to the public. You can also tell people and employers that you have not been convicted if you receive a PBJ. You are not allowed to receive 2 PBJ’s within a 10 year period in Maryland.
If you’ve been charged with DUI, call me, attorney Randolph Rice, at (410) 288-2900 for immediate DUI help. I have been representing clients in Maryland for years that have been charged with a First Offense DUI. You can also email me at RiceLawMd@gmail.com for immediate legal help.
I offer Free Consultations to all clients charged with DUI in Maryland
Maryland DUI Laws
The Maryland DUI Laws are contained in the Maryland Traffic Code section 21-902. You can view the Maryland Traffic Code by visiting www.michie.com. Click the transportation section and find the 21-902 section.
Maryland DUI Laws First Offense
Q: What is the Penalty for 1st Offense DUI in Maryland (Md.)?
A: The penalty for 1st offense DUI in Maryland is:
- First Offense DUI (driving under the influence) maximum 1 year and/or $1,000.00 fine.
- First Offense DWI (driving while impaired) maximum 60 days and/or $500.00 fine.
Q: Is a DUI a Criminal Offense in Maryland?
A: DUI is defined under the traffic code of Maryland or the transportation section of the Maryland Code. It is considered a serious traffic offense. However, people often refer to it as a criminal offense, but it is defined in the Transportation Section.
Q: What is the difference between DUI and DWI in Maryland?
A: A DUI is “driving under the influence” and DWI is “driving while impaired.” If you are charged with DUI, the State is alleging that your blood alcohol content was .08 or more. If you are charged with DWI, the State is alleging that your blood alcohol content was under .08, but that the amount in your system was enough to impair your ability to drive. Another difference between DUI and DWI in Maryland is the maximum penalties.
2nd DUI in Maryland
Did you received a 2nd DUI in Maryland. You may be eligible for PBJ if you have not been convicted within the past 10 years. Your maximum penalties will also increase to:
- 2nd DUI in Maryland: Maximum penalty 2 years and/or $2,000.00 fine.
Q: What are the Maryland DWI Penalties?
A: The Maryland DWI Penalties are:
- First Offense DWI in Maryland maximum penalty 60 days and/or $500.00 fine
- Second Offense DWI in Maryland maximum penalty 1 year and/or $500.00 fine.
If you have been charged with DWI or DUI in Maryland, call me, attorney Randolph Rice, at (410) 288-2900 for immediate legal help.
Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC
6914 Holabird Avenue, Suite A
Baltimore, Maryland 21222