Have you been charged with Maryland malicious destruction of property? Don’t panic, contact Maryland criminal defense attorney Randolph Rice to discuss your case.
Call the office at (410) 288-2900 or email Mr. Rice directly for immediate legal help.
Maryland Malicious Destruction
What is the crime of Maryland malicious destruction of property?
Maryland criminal law 6-301 states that “a person may not willfully and maliciously destroy, injure, or deface the real or personal property of another.” For a person to be found guilty the state must prove both “willful” and “malicious” destruction of property that belongs to another.
What is the penalty for Maryland malicious destruction?
There are two answers to that question and it depends on the value of the property that was destroyed, injured or defaced.
If the value of the property was at least $1000, in other words $1000 or more, then the maximum penalty is imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $ 2,500 or both
If the value of the property was less than $1000 then the maximum penalty is imprisonment not exceeding 60 days or a fine not exceeding $ 500 or both.
Is Maryland malicious destruction a misdemeanor or felony?
For both of the offenses, malicious destruction less then and greater than $1000, they are both classified as misdemeanors in Maryland.
[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’RHVIspD-QJY’]
What should I do if charged with malicious destruction of property?
Don’t do anything until you talk to a criminal defense lawyer like attorney Randolph Rice. You may feel pressured into paying for the damage or apologizing to the victim. The fact may be that the State cannot prove the case against you and you would have incriminated yourself.
More information on Maryland malicious destruction: