Blog

Penalty for Second DUI – DWI Conviction in Maryland – Drunk Driving Defense Attorney Baltimore County, MD

What is the maximum penalty for a second DUI or DWI conviction in Maryland?

It depends on what section of the DUI – DWI statute you are found guilty of that determines your maximum penalty.

As a review, there are 4 main sections of the Maryland DUI and DWI statutes:

21-902 (a)(1) – Driving under the influence by alcohol
21-902 (a)(2) – Driving under the influence per se by alcohol
21-902 (b) – Driving while impaired by alcohol
21-902 (c) – Driving while impaired by drugs or drugs and alcohol
21-902 (d) – Driving while impaired by a controlled dangerous substance

For a first conviction of DUI or DWI in Maryland, the maximum penalties are: (the below penalties assume that you were not transporting a minor when you were arrested and charged with DUI or DWI in Maryland)

21-902 (a)(1) – subject to a fine of not more than $1000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both.

21-902 (a)(2) – subject to a fine of not more than $1000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year of both.

21-902 (b) – subject to a fine of not more than $500.00 or imprisonment for not more than 60 days or both.

21-902 (c) – subject to a fine of not more than $500.00 or imprisonment for not more than 60 days or both.

21-902 (d) – subject to a fine of not more than $1000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both.

If you are facing a second DUI or DWI charge in Maryland, contact the Maryland DUI – DWI Defense Attorneys at the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900.  We offer free consultations and will help with every step of the process in guiding you through a second DUI – DWI charge.

For a second conviction of DUI or DWI in Maryland, the maximum penalties are: (the below penalties assume that you were not transporting a minor when you were arrested and charged with DUI or DWI in Maryland)

21-902 (a)(1) – subject to a fine of not more than $2000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both.

21-902 (a)(2) – subject to a fine of not more than $2000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both.

21-902 (b) – subject to a fine of not more than $500.00 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both.

21-902 (c) – subject to a fine of not more than $500.00 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both.

21-902 (d) – subject to a fine of not more than $2000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both.

Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC
6914 Holabird Avenue, Suite A
Dundalk, Maryland 21222-1747

410-288-2900 (Office / Available 24/7)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c