Blog

Penalty Second Degree Assault Md

assault

What is the penalty second degree assault Md.?

Hear Attorney Randolph Rice Discuss Second Degree Assault in Maryland.

Q: What is the penalty for second degree assault in Maryland?

A: The penalty for second degree assault in Maryland is 10 years in jail or a fine not exceeding $2,500.00, or both.

Q: What is the fine for second degree assault in Maryland?

A: The fine for second degree assault in Maryland is $2,500.00

Q: How long can I be on probation for second degree assault in Maryland?

A: If you are convicted or receive a probation before judgment (PBJ) for second degree assault in Maryland, you can be placed on probation for the following lengths of time, depending on the Court you received probation:

  • District Court maximum period of probation is 3 years
  • Circuit Court maximum period of probation is 5 years.

Q: Is second degree assault a felony or misdemeanor in Maryland?

A: Second degree assault is classified as a misdemeanor in Maryland.

Q: Will I go to jail for second degree assault in Maryland?

A: That depends on the facts of the case, the State’s Attorney’s Office, the Judge and what happens during the trial.  Each case is different and you should contact an experienced and seasoned criminal defense attorney in Maryland to discuss the facts of your case and how they will apply to the Court you are charged in.

Q: Who do I contact if I have been charged with second degree assault in Maryland?

A: Contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr, LLC, at 410-288-2900 or email the office for immediate legal help.

Second Degree Assault Law in Maryland

Maryland Criminal Law §3-203
§ 3-203. Assault in the second degree
(a) Prohibited. — A person may not commit an assault.
(b) Penalty. — Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a person who violates subsection (a) of this section is guilty of the misdemeanor of assault in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $ 2,500 or both.
(c) Law enforcement officer
(1) In this subsection, “physical injury” means any impairment of physical condition, excluding minor injuries.
(2) A person may not intentionally cause physical injury to another if the person knows or has reason to know that the other is:
(i) a law enforcement officer engaged in the performance of the officer’s official duties; or
(ii) a parole or probation agent engaged in the performance of the agent’s official duties.
(3) A person who violates paragraph (2) of this subsection is guilty of the felony of assault in the second degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $ 5,000 or both.

Maryland Second Degree Assault Defense Attorneys – Call 410-288-2900 for immediate legal defense help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c