Have you been told your Maryland driving license is suspended by a police officer or you see on Maryland Judiciary Case Search the words: “failure to comply suspension?”

Do not drive until you clear this suspension, you could face jail time if stopped by the police and convicted of driving on a suspended license in Maryland.

Why Do You Have a Failure to Comply?

If your driving charge shows a “failure to comply-suspension,” then you privilege to drive in Maryland is suspended and you should clear that suspension before you are stopped and charged or even arrested for driving with a suspended license.

Failure to Comply Suspension Recall

How do you recall that failure to comply-suspension? You must clear that with the court that issued the failure to comply (FTC). Once you pay or court costs, the court will notify the MVA that you have complied with an order of the court. the MVA will then remove the suspension from your driving record. Once the MVA removes the suspension, you can legally drive in the State of Maryland, as long as you don’t have any other pending suspensions or revocations.

What does the “susp” notation mean?

The “susp” notation in Maryland case search means suspension. This is the coding for the clerk of court notating that the driver’s license has been suspended as a result of failing to comply.

What does “suspr” mean?

The notation “suspr” means that the suspension has been recalled as the fine or penalty has been satisfied with the court. This court will notify the MVA of this and the MVA will take action to recall the suspended driver’s privilege.

How Do You Know if Your Driver's License is Suspended?How Do You Know if Your Driver’s License is Suspended?

You can learn of a driving license suspension by contacting the MVA or requesting your driving record online through their website. Once you obtain your driving record, it will tell you the current status.

Failure to Comply Lawyers in Maryland

Have you been stopped and charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland?  Did the police officer tell you or did you find out your case search that you have a “failure to comply suspension” and you don’t know what to do.

Contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, if you have been charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland at (410) 694-7291 or email attorney Rice at [email protected]

Because a conviction for driving on a suspended license in Maryland has the potential for jail time, don’t take a chance when you appear in Court, hire a Baltimore criminal defense lawyer that can help resolve the case and guarantee the best possible outcome, call the office today at (410) 694-7291 and speak with Attorney Randolph Rice.

Mr. Rice is a former Assistant State’s Attorney and has been selected by his fellow attorneys as a Super Lawyer – Rising Star in Maryland as well as a Best Attorney in Criminal Defense by CitySpur.

If you have an upcoming trial date in Maryland for driving on a suspended license, contact the Law Offices of Randolph Rice at (410) 694-7291 for immediate legal help and to hire a lawyer today.

Failure to Comply – Suspension

Failure to comply suspension means that you have failed to respond to the MVA or with Maryland Courts within 30 days after you received a ticket.  In Maryland, if you receive a payable traffic ticket you must respond within 30 days with one of three actions. You can:

  1. Pay the traffic ticket (you may receive Maryland MVA points);
  2. Request a waiver hearing (not recommended);
  3. Request a trial (recommended).

If you pay the ticket then the case is over and you have may receive points for the violation. Click here to find out if the violation you paid for or are considering paying for carries points.  By paying the ticket you are admitting guilt and do not have to appear in Court.

Contact our office today for immediate legal help, (410) 694-7291.

If you request a waiver hearing, you will have to appear in Court and the police officer that issued you a ticket will not have to appear and you are pleading guilty before the Judge and providing an explanation as to why the Judge should reduce your ticket or grant you probation before judgment.

If you receive a probation before judgment then you will not receive MVA points, but you still may have to pay fines and courts costs.

If you request a trial, the police officer that issued you the tickets will have to appear. If he does not appear then you can plead not guilty.  If he does appear you can have a trial or enter a guilty plea and explain why you did what you did when the officer issued you the ticket(s).  You can still receive a probation before judgment, which means you do not receive any MVA points on your driving record.

Suspended License Because You Failed to Comply

If you have been stopped and charged with driving on a suspended, canceled, revoked, or refused license in Maryland after a failure to comply, you should hire a lawyer because a conviction can lead to jail time, fines, court costs, probation and many other adverse consequences.

Maximum Court Penalties for Driving on Canceled, Suspended, Refused, or Revoked Driver’s License in Maryland (MD):

For a First Offense:

  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (a) Driving on Suspended License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (b) Driving on Canceled License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (d) Driving on Revoked License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (e) Driving License Canceled by Other States: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (g) Driving on License Revoked by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 1 year in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both.

For a Second of Subsequent Offense:

  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (a) Driving on Suspended License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (b) Driving on Canceled License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (d) Driving on Revoked License: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (e) Driving License Canceled by Other States: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (g) Driving on License Revoked by Other State: Maximum of $1,000 fine or 2 years in jail, or both.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: Maximum of $500 fine.
  • Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: Maximum of $500 fine or 60 days in jail, or both. (Penalty is same for First Offense)

In addition to jail and fines, the Court may also impose court costs, probation, and any special conditions of probation that must be completed during the probationary period.

MVA Point Assessment for Convictions in Maryland

Below find the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration Point consequence for a conviction of the following traffic statutes:

  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (a) Driving on Suspended License: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (b) Driving on Canceled License: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (c) Driving on Suspended License Generally: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (d) Driving on Revoked License: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (e) Driving License Canceled by Other States: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (f) Driving on License Suspended by Other State: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (g) Driving on License Revoked by Other State: 12 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (h) Driving on License Suspended by Certain Provisions: 3 Points
  • MVA Points for violation of 16-303 (i) Driving on License Suspended by Another State for Failure to Appear in Court or Pay Fine: 3 Points