Fells Point, located in Baltimore, is known for its night life. There are many restaurants, bars and other antique buildings that people frequent. With Fells Point being home to a social scene, there is bound to be poor decisions made, whether that’s drinking after a few too many or disorderly conduct in the streets. Contact a skilled criminal law defense attorney to help get you out of your bind.
If you are charged with a crime in Fells Point one of the first questions that come to mind may be where will I appear for court. Well, there are several District Court locations to consider. The court house located most closely to Fells Point is on East Fayette Street and offers street or garage parking. The other District Court locations are on Wabash Avenue, E. North Avenue and E. Patapsco Avenue. All court houses operate from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. The Circuit court, which handles appeals from the District Court and other original jurisdiction cases, is located on North Calvert Street.
Under Maryland Code assault is defined as the offensive touching of another individual. A person can also be charged with assault if they make an attempt to make contact with another person who believes that they will be assaulted. Assault can occur in a variety of situations and depend on the surrounding circumstances can be charged in one of four degrees. First-degree assault involves the use of a firearm or the intention of causing serious physical injury. If you are charged with assault there are possible defenses, such as the defense of others and self-defense. Being charged with assault is a serious matter and should not be taken lightly. A Fell’s Point criminal attorney will work with you to ensure the best possible outcome.
In Maryland, stalking and harassment falls under the same criminal statute. Stalking is defined as the act of approaching or pursuing another person and doing it in a way that placed that other person in fear. If found guilty of stalking there is a punishment of prison not to exceed 5 years and/or a fine not exceeding $5,000. Meanwhile, the harassment statute prohibits a person from following another at a public place or maliciously engaging in a course of conduct that alarms or seriously annoy the other person with intent to harass or alarm after receiving a reasonable warning or request to stop. If you have been charged with either of these crimes, contact a skilled Fell’s Point criminal lawyer.
Theft is a broad term that defines any incident in which someone takes the property of another with the intent to permanently deprive the true owner of that property. One of the most common offenses of theft is shoplifting. The penalty for shoplifting depends on the amount stolen from the store. If the amount is over $1,000 then the charge of theft becomes a felony. If the theft is less than $100 there is a maximum of 90 days in jail and is considered a misdemeanor. Even though the charge of theft is common, it is not to be taken lightly, so call the Law Offices of Randolph Rice to handle your case.
What are the chances of the charges being dropped?
Just like there is no exact science to determine what the outcome of a case will be, there is no exact science to determine whether the State will proceed with the charges. Oftentimes, charges are dropped because the prosecution feels that it does not have enough evidence to proceed or the victim is not willing to cooperate with the case. A defense attorney will never be able to say if and when charges will be dropped. However, an experienced Fell’s Point criminal lawyer will be able to sit down with you and discuss your cases possible outcomes.
What is an appeal and how do I file for one?
Once the defendant has been through a trial and believes that the case was improperly handled then he/she has a right to file an appeal on the court’s decision. A case may be improperly handled in a variety of ways including improperly applying the laws or inappropriate behavior on behalf of the judge or attorneys. When filing for an appeal, the appellate court will not normally look at the facts of the case, but rather the process under which the facts were presented. Many times, there are lawyers who are specifically skilled in appellate work in order to present it in front of the judge. If you have further questions about the appeals process, come in for a free consultation with a skilled Fell’s Point criminal lawyer.
What happens if I was charged as a minor?
In order to be charged as a minor, the child must be under the age of 18. If charged as a minor, as an adult you may wonder how that can affect job and school prospects. If you are charged with a crime as a minor, the record is normally confidential and not available to the public. Once you are an adult, you may ask to have your juvenile record expunged. The decision is left to the judge as to whether to grant the request. If you have repeatedly gotten into trouble even into your adult life the judge will be less likely to grant the expungement.
If you have made a poor life decision that has ended you up charged or behind bars, you need someone by your side. At the Law Offices of Randolph Rice, we believe that one decision should not cost you your life savings and future dreams. Call an experienced Fells Point criminal lawyer to defend you.