If you’re pulled over under suspicion of driving while intoxicated or impaired, you’ll be faced with an immediate and pressing set of questions: Should I take the field sobriety test? Should I take the breathalyzer or blood test?
Should I request an MVA hearing? Should I pay the other tickets associated with the DUI or DWI charges? You may feel confused and anxious as you consider all of these important considerations.
The one thing you must do as soon as possible is speak with a DUI attorney. The consequences of a DUI or DWI conviction in Maryland can be devastating. As soon as you can, call DUI lawyer Randolph Rice at 410.288.2900 to discuss your options and next steps. You can also email Mr. Rice to discuss and schedule a free consultation in his Baltimore office or Lutherville office.
Don’t wait; it is vital that you seek legal representation immediately. The penalties for driving while intoxicated in Maryland can be severe and long-lasting. Both prosecutors and judges take DUIs extremely seriously in this state. Those who are charged with drunk driving can face sanctions from probation before judgment to jail time. Contacting a lawyer as early as possible will help to reduce your chances of suffering these or other legal consequences.
Maryland DUI lawyer Randolph Rice can help you understand the charges against you. Call Mr. Rice’s office today at 410.288.2900 to schedule a free consultation.
You may not know it, but law enforcement have wide latitude to administer drunk driving tests to anyone on the road in Maryland. Any person who drives or attempts to drive a motor vehicle on a highway or on any private property that is used by the public is deemed to have consented to take a test if the person should be detained on suspicion of driving or attempting to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
You are not actually legally required to take a drunk driving test if you are pulled over by a police officer. However, law enforcement can impose severe penalties for drivers who refuse to take the test, including confiscation of your driver’s license for up to a year.
Several things might occur:
Did you experience any of these situations or penalties? Don’t wait—call Randolph Rice at 410.288.2900 to schedule a free consultation.
If you’re from another state and you’re found to be driving while impaired in Maryland, the penalties are the same. So is the importance of calling a Maryland DUI lawyer. If you’re an out-of-state driver charged with a DUI in Maryland, schedule a free consultation with Mr. Rice in his Baltimore office or Lutherville office.
In addition to the severe administrative penalties that Maryland drivers can incur if suspected of drunk driving, motorists must also be aware of the criminal penalties they may face if charged and convicted.
Our helpful DUI penalty chart can help explain what motorists may face in criminal courts. In a nutshell, what are the consequences of being convicted of drunk driving in Maryland?
For the first offense, a motorist convicted of driving under the influence under Maryland laws §21-902(b), §21-902(c) or §21-902.1 will face a fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for up to two months. Some motorists may face both penalties.
For a second offense under §21-902(b) or §21-902(c), motorists are subject to a fine of up to $500 or imprisonment up to one year. Again, some drivers may face both penalties.
For a third offense or any subsequent offense thereafter under §21-902(b) or §21-902(c), motorists face a fine of up to $3,000 and a prison term of up to 3 years, or both.
For the purpose of second or subsequent offender penalties for a violation of § 21–902(b), a prior conviction of §21-902(a), (c), or (d) shall be considered a conviction of §21-902(b). For the purpose of second or subsequent offender penalties for a violation of §21-902(c) a prior conviction of § 21–902(a), (b), or (d) shall be considered a conviction of §21-902(c).
We know: All of this may seem confusing and intimidating. A Maryland DUI lawyer can help you figure out what charges you’re facing and help you navigate the complex and difficult laws and penalty systems of the state.
The state of Maryland imposes harsh penalties on drivers convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs while minors are in the vehicle. If you’ve been charged with a DWI with a minor in the car, don’t hesitate—you need a Maryland DWI lawyer to help you figure out your options. Call DUI lawyer Randolph Rice at 410.288.2900 as soon as possible.
According to Maryland law, any person who is convicted of a violation of §21-902(b)(2) (“Driving while impaired by alcohol while transporting a minor”) or (c)(3) (“Driving while impaired by drugs or drugs and alcohol”) is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or both for a first offense.
For a second offense of driving drunk while transporting a minor, the motorist will face a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or both. For a third or subsequent offense, the driver is looking at a fine of not more than $4,000 or imprisonment for not more than 4 years or both.
Many drivers are not aware that certain drunk driving convictions in Maryland courts carry with them mandatory penalties. This means that, if a drunk or intoxicated driver is convicted in a Maryland court under certain conditions, the judge is required to sentence him or her in a certain way.
What are Maryland’s mandatory conviction laws? Maryland’s mandatory drunk driving penalty laws stipulate that if you’ve been convicted of driving while intoxicated more than once within a five-year period, you will face certain penalties.
A driver who is convicted of a violation of §21-902(a) within 5 years after a prior conviction is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days. A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense under §21-902(a) within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days.
In addition to a potential prison term, drivers convicted under this law who have been convicted of any DUI offense in the last five years shall be required by the court to undergo a comprehensive alcohol abuse assessment. The driver may also be required to participate in an alcohol treatment program as ordered by the court.
A person who is convicted of a violation of §21-902(d) within 5 years after a prior conviction is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days. A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense under §21-902(d) within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days.
Similar to the program above, a person who is convicted of an offense under §21-902(d) within 5 years of a prior conviction of any DUI offense shall be required by the court to undergo a comprehensive drug abuse assessment. As with the alcohol abuse assessment, drivers may also be required to participate in a drug abuse treatment program mandated by the court.
This is a lot of information to process. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Maryland, you should speak to a DUI lawyer who can help you figure out what your options are. Call DUI lawyer Randolph Rice at 410.288.2900 as soon as possible.
We know you have a lot of questions about your DUI or DWI charges. Below are some of the most common DUI/DWI questions answered.
You can still be charged. The DUI and DWI statutes in this state apply to all drivers whether they are driving a vehicle on or off a highway in the state of Maryland. Transportation Section 21-902(a)(1) of the Maryland Vehicle laws states that a person “may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while under the influence of alcohol”—period, no exceptions.
The legal limit for blood alcohol content in Maryland is 0.08. But this isn’t a hard-and-fast rule: If you have alcohol in your system, you can still be charged with a DUI or DWI. The State may use other evidence to try and prove you were driving while under the influence or driving while impaired.
In Maryland, drivers get 12 points on their driving records for a DUI, and 8 points for a DWI. As well, drivers get 12 points for driving while impaired by controlled dangerous substances in Maryland.
Driving under the influence is classified as a misdemeanor in Maryland.
A DUI is driving under the influence. This is considered a less serious crime than a DWI, which is driving while impaired.