Are you or a loved one facing 1st Degree Assault Charges or 2nd Degree Assault Charges? Contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr. LLC, at 410-288-2900 or email attorney Randolph Rice for immediate legal help.
[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’tqNEKlKE7fs’]
In Maryland, a person can be charged with either 1st Degree Assault or Second Degree Assault depending on the facts of the case. If a person is charged with first degree assault, they are facing felony charges that carry a maximum penalty of 25 (Twenty-Five) years in jail.
If a person is facing second degree assault charges in Maryland, then they are facing a misdemeanor and a maximum penalty for 10 years in jail and/or a $5,000.00 fine. If the victim of the second degree assault is a police officer, then the person is facing a felony assault charge. The maximum penalty for assaulting a police officer is Maryland is Ten (10) years in jail and/or a $5,000.00 fine.
Assault Charges – What happens if I’m convicted
In addition to being incarcerated for assault charges in Maryland, a person could be place on supervised or unsupervised probation. During probation, that person may be required to report to parole and probation, be required to work or be in school. The Court may also require the person to pay a probation fee.
How Do I Beat Assault Charges in Maryland?
Hire a lawyer as soon after you’ve been charged with assault. Some assaults are he said she said types of cases. Other assault charges may be a case of mistaken identity or the victim may have the wrong person. You want to hire a lawyer that is experienced in defending assault charges in Maryland.
Attorney Randolph Rice is a former Assistant State’s Attorney and has handled thousands of assault cases in Maryland. Let his experience go to work for you in the Courtroom.
Contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal advice and to schedule a free consultation to discuss your assault charges.