Blog

Driving on a Suspended License in Maryland

Maryland Traffic Ticket Attorney | Traffic Violation Lawyer in Baltimore

Are you facing driving on a suspended license in Maryland charge?  Contact the driving on a suspended license in Maryland defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410.288.2900 to schedule a FREE, no obligation, consultation.  We offer same day appointments and can walk you through the process and help you take care of the charges, with a focus on avoiding points, fines, and even jail.

Driving on a Suspended License in Maryland

Did you know that if you are convicted of driving on a suspended license in Maryland you could be facing jail.  Most drivers don’t realize that driving on a suspended license in Maryland is a jailable offense and you could spend up to a year in jail if convicted.  That is why it is so important to hire a lawyer that knows the driving on a suspended license laws in Maryland.

Q: Is driving with a suspended driver’s license a misdemeanor or felony in Maryland?

A: Driving on a suspended license in Maryland is classified as a misdemeanor.

What is the Penalty for Driving on a Suspended License in Maryland?

First Conviction for driving on a suspended license:

  • 16-303 (c) Suspended license generally – Max 1 year in jail and $1,000.00 fine, or both.
  • 16-303 (f) Licenses suspended by other states – Max 1 year in jail and $1,000.00 fine, or both.
  • 16-303 (h) License suspended under certain provisions of article –  Max 60 days in jail and $500.00 fine, or both.

Second or Subsequent Conviction for driving on a suspended license:

  • 16-303 (c) Suspended license generally – Max 2 years in jail and $1,000.00 fine, or both.
  • 16-303 (f) Licenses suspended by other states – Max 2 years in jail and $1,000.00 fine, or both.
  • 16-303 (h) License suspended under certain provisions of article –  Max 60 days in jail and $500.00 fine, or both.

[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’TghAajTyys4′]

Points Assessed to your License if convicted of driving on a suspended license in Maryland.

If you receive a finding of “guilty,” then the Court will forward the conviction to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The MVA will assess points to your driving record.  If you receive too many points, you license may be suspended or revoked.  If you receive a probation before judgment (PBJ), then you will not receive points and the MVA will not assess points to your driving record.

If you receive a guilty then you will receive the following points on your driving record depending on the section of the Maryland Transportation Article you are convicted under:

  • 16-303 (c) – 12 points
  • 16-303 (f) – 12 points
  • 16-303 (h) – 3 points

If you are facing a driving on a suspended license in Maryland, contact attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help.  You can schedule a same day free consultation to discuss your case.

What is my driving license suspended in Maryland?

There are 7 common reasons your license is suspended in Maryland:

  1. Too many points on your driving record;
  2. Violation of License Restriction;
  3. Medical Advisory Board suspension;
  4. Fail to pay Child Support;
  5. Too many DUI / DWI convictions;
  6. Failed to take a breath or blood test after a DUI / DWI investigation; and
  7. Failed to pay a ticket.

Don’t take chance when you appear in Court.  Too often do we see individuals appear before a Judge for driving on a suspended license and they end up with a conviction, points and sometimes jail.  Call the traffic ticket lawyers with Rice Law LLC at 410.288.2900 for immediate help and to schedule a FREE consultation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *