Blog

Driving on Suspended License in Maryland – Baltimore County Driving on Suspended License Attorney

What happens if I am convicted of driving on a suspended license in Maryland?

If you are convicted on driving on a suspended license in Maryland you could be facing serious jail time and fines or both.  What determines the possible penalty is the section of the transportation statute your are charged under as well as what section you are convicted under.

Transportation Article §16-303

(a)    Refused licenses. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in §21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive if refused in this State of any other State.

(b)   Canceled licenses. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in S21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is canceled in this State.

(c)    Suspended License Generally. – A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or any property specified in §21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended in this State.

(d)   Revoked licenses.- A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is revoked in this State

(e)    Licenses canceled by other states.- A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is canceled.

(f)    Licenses suspended by other states.- A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is suspended.

(g)   Licenses revoked by other states.- A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is revoked.

(h)   Licenses suspended under certain provisions of article.- A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under § 17-106, § 26-204, § 26-206, or § 27-103 of this article.

If you are facing Driving While Suspended charges in Baltimore County, then you have been charged under the Maryland Code, Maryland Vehicle Law, Transportation Article 16-303.

There are four different section of Article 16-303 that you could be charged under if you are caught driving on suspended driver’s license in Maryland.

16-303 (c) Suspended License Generally: A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or any property specified in 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license to drive is suspended in this State.

Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.

If you need a lawyer for a Driving on Suspended License or Driving While Suspended in Baltimore County, Maryland, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900

16-303 (f) Licenses suspended by other State: A person my not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is suspended.

Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.

If you need a lawyer for a Driving on Suspended License or Driving While Suspended in Baltimore County, Maryland, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900

16-303 (h) Licenses suspended under certain provisions of article: A person my not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is suspended under 17-106 (Lapse or termination of required security), 26-204 (Compliance with traffic citations; powers of the court on noncompliance), or 27-103 (Nonpayment of fine) of this article.

Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h): Maximum of $500 fine and 60 days incarcerated.

If you need a lawyer for a Driving on Suspended License or Driving While Suspended in Baltimore County, Maryland, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900

16-303 (i) License suspended by another state for failure to appear or pay fine: (1) This subsection applies only to a person whose license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of another state for: (i) Failure to comply with a notice to appear in a Court of that State contained in a traffic citation issued to the person; or (ii) Failure to pay a fine for a violation of any traffic laws or regulations of that state. (2) A person my not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in 21-101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations or any other State as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection.

Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i): Maximum of $500 fine and 60 days incarcerated.

Penalties for Driving While Suspended violations in the state of Maryland can include fines, court costs, or MVA points.

Below find the MVA consequence for a conviction of the following violations:

Refused licenses: 12 MVA points.
Canceled licenses: 12 MVA points.
Suspended License Generally: 12 MVA points.
Revoked licenses: 12 MVA points.
Licenses canceled by other states: 12 MVA points.
Licenses suspended by other states: 12 MVA points.
Licenses revoked by other states: 12 MVA points
Licenses suspended under certain provisions of article: 3 MVA points.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c