Blog

Driving With A Suspended License

Maryland Suspended License Attorney | Suspended License Lawyer in Baltimore

Driving in the State of Maryland is a privilege and not a right.  That privilege is granted through the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (“MVA”) and the Maryland Transportation Code. If for some reason you don’t comply with the MVA’s rules, a Court order or other governmental agency directive, then the MVA can and will suspend your privilege to drive in the State. Driving on a suspended license is serious and in most cases is a “must appear” offense.  This means you must appear in Court to resolve the ticket as opposed to paying the ticket online.

Have you been charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland? Contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at 410-288-2900 or email the office if you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland.

Why is my driver’s license suspended in Maryland?

If stopped or attempting to drive while your license is suspended, you may be charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland for a number of reasons, including:

  • Failing to appear for court;
  • Not paying a traffic ticket;
  • Not paying child support;
  • A license restriction;
  • Too many points;
  • Insurance flag;
  • Insurance judgment.

What can happen if I am convicted for driving with a suspended license in Maryland?

If you are convicted of driving without a license in Maryland you could be facing:

  • Jail;
  • Probation;
  • Fines;
  • Court costs;
  • Driving improvement courses;
  • Community service;
  • Any other condition to Court deems appropriate.

If you are convicted of driving without a license in Maryland you could face up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine, or both.  Don’t take chances when you have to appear in Court.  Hire a driving with a suspended license defense lawyer as soon as possible.

What is the Penalty for Driving Suspended in Maryland?

Offense Maximum Penalty MVA Point Assessment
16-303(a) – Refused Licenses 1st Offense – 1 Year in jail and/or $1,000 Fine

2nd or Subsequent Offense – 2 Years in jail and/or $1000 Fine

12 Points
16-303(b) – Canceled Licenses 1st Offense – 1 Year in jail and/or $1,000 Fine

2nd or Subsequent Offense – 2 Years in jail and/or $1000 Fine

12 Points
16-303(c) – Suspended Licenses Generally 1st Offense – 1 Year in jail and/or $1,000 Fine

2nd or Subsequent Offense – 2 Years in jail and/or $1000 Fine

12 Points
16-303(d) – Revoked Licenses 1st Offense – 1 Year in jail and/or $1,000 Fine

2nd or Subsequent Offense – 2 Years in jail and/or $1000 Fine

12 Points
16-303(e) – Licenses Cancelled by Other States 1st Offense – 1 Year in jail and/or $1,000 Fine

2nd or Subsequent Offense – 2 Years in jail and/or $1000 Fine

12 Points
16-303(f) – Licenses Suspended by Other States 1st Offense – 1 Year in jail and/or $1,000 Fine

2nd or Subsequent Offense – 2 Years in jail and/or $1000 Fine

12 Points
16-303(g) – Licenses Revoked by Other States 1st Offense – 1 Year in jail and/or $1,000 Fine

2nd or Subsequent Offense – 2 Years in jail and/or $1000 Fine

12 Points
16-303(h) – Licenses Suspended by Certain Provisions of Article 1st Offense – 60 Days in jail and/or $500 Fine 3 Points
16-303(i) – License Suspended by Other States for Failure to Appear of Pay Fine 1st Offense – 60 Days in jail and/or $500 Fine 3 Points

Who Do I call If I Need a Driving with a Suspended License Lawyer?

Attorney Randolph Rice has been representing clients charged with driving with a suspended license since 2009.  Before he was a private attorney, he was an Assistant State’s Attorney.  He is a Super Lawyers – Maryland Rising Star, Avvo ranked 10 out of 10 and Lead Counsel Rated.

Contact the office at 410-288-2900 to speak with an attorney today.  We offer free confidential consultations and have same day appointments available.

We represent clients in the following counties and cities in Maryland:

  • Baltimore County;
  • Baltimore City;
  • Harford County;
  • Howard County;
  • Anne Arundel County;
  • Worcester County;
  • Ocean City; and
  • All District and Circuit Courts in Maryland.

Don’t let one mistake ruin the rest of your life.  A driving with a suspended license conviction can result in an additional 12 points assigned to your Maryland driving record.

Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, 410-288-290.  Call for immediate legal help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *