Blog

Driving With a Suspended Driver’s License

Maryland traffic ticket attorney Randolph Rice handles hundreds of driving with a suspended driver’s license cases a year.  He has compiled a list of common questions clients ask and provides some of the basic questions to those answers.

If you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland, contact the office at 410-288-2900 or email the office to schedule a free confidential consultation.

G. Randolph Rice, Jr. is a Maryland attorney that represents clients for all types of criminal and traffic charges.  He is a Super Lawyer – Maryland Rising Star, Avvo 10 out of 10 and Lead Counsel Rated.  The following answers apply to Maryland charges only.  Some laws may be similar from State to State.  If you have been charged with driving with a suspended driver’s license in a State other than Maryland, contact a lawyer in that State that handles traffic cases.

What is Driving With a Suspended License?

Driving with a suspended license is a violation of the Maryland Transportation Article 16-303.  There are 4 different section under Title 16-303 that you can be charged with that deal with driving with a suspended driver’s license:

  1. 16-303(c) Suspended license generally;
  2. 16-303(f) License suspended by other states;
  3. 16-303(h) License suspended under certain provisions of article;
  4. 16-303(i) License suspended by another state for failure to pay a fine.

What is the Penalty for Driving With a Suspended License?

In Maryland, the maximum penalty for driving with a suspended license depends on the section you are charged with.

  • The penalty for driving with a suspended license generally (16-303(c)), is 1 year in jail and a $1,000.00 fine or both.
  • The penalty for driving with a suspended license by other states (16-303(f)), is 1 year in jail and a $1,000.00 fine or both.
  • The penalty for driving with a suspended license under certain provisions of article (16-303(h)), is 60 days in jail and a $500.00 fine or both.
  • The penalty for driving with a suspended license by another state for failure to pay a fine (16-303(i)), is 60 days in jail and a $500.00 fine or both.

All of these penalties for driving with a suspended driver’s license are for a 1st offense.  The penalties after a first conviction.

What is the Fine for Driving With a Suspended License?

In Maryland, the fine for driving with a suspended license depends on the section a person is charged under.  If you are charged with sections 16-303(c) and 16-303(f), the the fine is $1,000.00.  If you are charged with driving with a suspended license sections 16-303(h) and 16-303(i), the fine is $500.00

What is the Charge for Driving with a Suspended License?

The charge for driving with a suspended driver’s license states:

  • 16-303(c)   A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended in this State.
  • 16-303(f)   A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license issued by any other state is suspended.
  • 16-303(h)   A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under § 17–106, § 26–204, § 26–206, or § 27–103 of this article.
  • 16-303(i)
    • (1) This subsection applies only to a person whose license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of another state for:
      • (i)   Failure to comply with a notice to appear in a court of that state contained in a traffic citation issued to the person; or
      • (ii)   Failure to pay a fine for a violation of any traffic laws or regulations of that state.
    • (2)   A person may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or on any property specified in § 21–101.1 of this article while the person’s license or privilege to drive is suspended under the traffic laws or regulations of any other state as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection.

How Much is a Ticket for Driving With a Suspended License?

In Maryland, driving with a suspended license is not a ticket you can pay.  It is a “must appear” ticket, that means you must appear in Court to answer the charged before a Judge.  If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license and additional payable tickets, you should not pay the payable tickets before your Court appearance.  Your attorney may be able to negotiate a resolution that drops the offenses that carry jail time and allow you to pay one of the payable tickets.

How Much is a Fine for Driving with a Suspended License?

The fine for driving with a suspended license depends on the section you have been charged with under the Maryland Transportation Article. The fines can range from $500.00 to $1,000.00.  However, in most jurisdictions in Maryland, a first offense driving on a suspended driver’s license rarely receives the maximum fine.

Is Driving With a Suspended License A Felony?

No, driving with a suspended license in not a felony in Maryland.  Driving with a suspended license in Maryland is classified as a misdemeanor.

Is Driving With A Suspended Driver’s License a Criminal Offense?

Driving with a suspended license in Maryland is not a criminal offense, it is a violation of the traffic laws.  However, when you appear in Court, your case will more likely than not be placed on a docket with other cases that can be criminal.  You want to hire a lawyer that handles traffic and criminal cases, as that lawyer is versed in the courts that handles these types of cases.

Is Driving With a Suspended License a Crime?

In Maryland, it is considered a crime or a violation of the transportation Article. If convicted, the defendant could face jail time and serious fines.

To learn more about driving with a suspended driver’s license, you can visit our Google+ page.  We update the page on a regular basis with new laws and court case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c