Blog

Penalty for Driving with a Refused, Canceled, Suspended or Revoked License in Maryland

Baltimore traffic lawyer

What are the penalties for driving with a:

  • Refused;
  • Canceled;
  • Suspended; or
  • Revoked License in Maryland

Maryland traffic ticket lawyer Randolph Rice has been defends clients in Maryland who have been charged with serious or must appear traffic ticket. There are two types of traffic tickets in Maryland; payable tickets and must appear tickets.

Payable Tickets in Maryland

Payable are tickets are just that, a driver can pay the ticket and it is over. However, if the driver pays the ticket and the ticket has points assigned, then the MVA will assess points to a driver’s record. Too many points can result in consequences taken by the MVA. Here is the breakdown of what happens if you get too many points on your driving record:

  • 3 to 4 points – The MVA will send you a warning letter.
  • 5 to 7 points – The MVA will require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
  • 8 to 11 points – The MVA will send you a notice of suspension.
  • 12 or more points – The MVA will send you a notice of revocation.

If you don’t want to receive points, then you can request a waiver hearing or trial and ask the Judge to grant you a probation before judgment or PBJ. If you get a PBJ, then no points will be assessed against your driving record. You can also challenge the tickets if you request a trial on your tickets. You must mail that notice to the address listed on the tickets within 30 days after the stop to be eligible for a waiver hearing or trial.

Must Appear Traffic Tickets in Maryland

Must appear traffic tickets in just that, the defendant must appear in Court. This is because there is a potential penalty of jail time.

Can I Go to Jail for Driving with a Refused, Canceled, Suspended or Revoked License in Maryland? Yes, you can go to jail for these offenses. The laws that describe these crimes are found in the Maryland Transportation Article 16-303.

Maryland Penalty Chart for Driving on a Refused, Canceled, Suspended and Revoked License

OffensePenalty (1st Offense)Penalty (2nd or Subsequent Offense)Points assessed if found guilty.
16-303(a) Driving with a refused license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(b) Driving with a canceled license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(c) Driving with a suspended license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(d) Driving with a revoked license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(e) Driving with a license canceled by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(f) Driving with a license suspended by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(g) Driving with a license revoked by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(h) Driving with a suspended license under 17-106, 26-204, 26-206, or 27-103A fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both3 Points
16-303(i) Driving with suspended license by another State for failing to pay a fine or appear in CourtA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both3 Points

Attorney Randolph Rice has handled thousands or traffic cases in Maryland. He is a former Assistant State’s Attorney and ranked by Super Lawyer, Avvo, Lead Counsel and is a Lawyers of Distinction. Contact the office today if you’re facing a serious traffic charge in Maryland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c