Blog

What is the Penalty for Driving with a Suspended License in Maryland?

What is the Penalty for Driving with a Suspended License in Maryland

What is the penalty for driving with a suspended license in Maryland?

The penalty for driving with a suspended license in Maryland varies depending on the section charged. There are numerous subsections of the transportation article.

Driving with a Suspended License in Maryland Penalty Chart

OffensePenalty (1st Offense)Penalty (2nd or Subsequent Offense)Points assessed if found guilty.
16-303(a) Driving with a refused license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(b) Driving with a canceled license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(c) Driving with a suspended license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(d) Driving with a revoked license in MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(e) Driving with a license canceled by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(f) Driving with a license suspended by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(g) Driving with a license revoked by State other than MarylandA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both12 Points
16-303(h) Driving with a suspended license under 17-106, 26-204, 26-206, or 27-103A fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both3 Points
16-303(i) Driving with suspended license by another State for failing to pay a fine or appear in CourtA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both3 Points

Can you GO to Jail for Driving with a Suspended License?

Yes, in Maryland you can go to jail for driving with a suspended license. Many Judges in Maryland will send people to jail for driving with a suspended license in Maryland.

How Much is the Fine for Driving With a Suspended License in Maryland?

The fine for driving with a suspended license in Maryland can range from $500 up to $1000.

What is the penalty in MD for driving with a suspended license?

In Maryland, the penalty for driving with a suspended license can range from imprisonment of 60 days and/or a $500 fine up to 2 years in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. The penalty for driving with a suspended license in Maryland will depend on the section of the transportation article you have been charged with.

Is it a felony to drive with a suspended license in Maryland?

No, it is not a felony to drive with a suspended license in Maryland. Driving with a suspended license in Maryland is classified as a misdemeanor.

Can You Expunge a Driving With a Suspended License in Maryland?

Yes, you can expunge a driving with a suspended license in Maryland if you receive a nolle prosequi, Stet, dismissal, acquittal, or probation before judgment (“PBJ”). In some situations, you must wait 3 years after you receive the Stet or PBJ to expunge a driving with a suspended license.

Will I be on Probation for Driving With a Suspended License in Maryland?

Most Judges will place an individual who is found guilty or receives a probation before judgment on probation. Probation can be supervised or unsupervised.

What Do I Do if My License is Suspended?

You should contact the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration at (800) 950-1682 or visit a MVA branch to determine why your license is suspended. You can also order your driving record online and forward to the Law Offices of Randolph Rice. Their suspended license lawyers will be able to advise why your driver’s license is suspended in Maryland

Driving with a Suspended License in Maryland Lawyer

If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland, you should contact a traffic defense attorney to defend you in Court. The penalties are so severe if convicted that you cannot afford a conviction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c