Blog

Suspended License Maryland Attorney

Have you been charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland?  Have you been cited for driving on a suspended license?

Contact traffic ticket defense attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 or email the office for immediate legal help.

View Attorney Randolph Rice speak about Suspended License in Maryland

[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’TghAajTyys4′]

Maryland Suspended License Defense Attorney

Attorney Randolph Rice is a Maryland traffic ticket attorney that represents clients that have been charged with driving with a suspended license. He has represented hundreds of individuals charged with driving on a suspended license.  He is a former Assistant State’s Attorney, a Super Lawyers – Maryland Rising Star, Ranked by Avvo as 10 out of 10 and Lead Counsel Rated.

Penalty for Suspended License in Maryland

Did you know that if you are convicted of driving with a suspended license, you could face up to 1 year in jail for a first offense and 2 years in jail for a 2nd or subsequent conviction.

MVA Points for Suspended License Conviction in Maryland

If you receive a “guilty” for driving on a suspended license in Maryland, the MVA will assess either 12 points or 3 points to your Maryland driving record.  The Maryland MVA has specific rules for drivers that accumulate too many points.  If you accumulate 3 to 4 points the MVA will send you a warning letter.  If you accumulate 5 to 7 points, the MVA will require you to enroll in the Driver Improvement Program (DIP).  If you accumulate 8 to 11 points, the MVA will send you a notice of suspension.  If you accumulate 12 or more points, the MVA will send you a notice of revocation.

Possessing a Suspended License

If you are ticketed for possessing a suspended license in Maryland, you could face up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine or both.  If you receive a “guilty” for possessing a suspended license, then the MVA will assess 12 points to your Maryland Driving Record.

Contact Attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 of you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license.

Jail for Suspended License in Maryland

In Maryland, the police officer can charge you with four different violations if your license is suspended, depending on how your license is suspended:

  1. 16-303(c) Person driving motor vehicle on (hwy., public use property) on suspended license and privilege;
  2. 16-303(f) Person driving motor vehicle on (hwy., public use property) on suspended out of state license;
  3. 16-303(h) Driving motor vehicle on while suspended under (17-106, 26-204, 26-206, 27-103);
  4. 16-303(i) Driving motor vehicle while license suspended in other state for (failure to appear, failure to pay fine).

Each one of these violations can result in jail, fines, probation, court costs, and other penalties.

Contact Attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 of you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license.

1st Offense Suspended License in Maryland

If you are convicted and it is your first offense, the maximum jail time and fines are:

  1. 16-303(c): Maximum of $1,000.00 fine and 1 year in jail, or both;
  2. 16-303(f): Maximum of $1,000.00 fine and 1 year in jail, or both;
  3. 16-303(h): Maximum $500.00 fine and 60 days in jail, or both;
  4. 16-303(i): Maximum $500.00 fine and 60 days in jail, or both.

2nd Offense Suspended License in Maryland

  1. 16-303(c): Maximum of $1,000.00 fine and 2 years in jail, or both;
  2. 16-303(f): Maximum of $1,000.00 fine and 2 years in jail, or both;
  3. 16-303(h): Maximum $500.00 fine and 60 days in jail, or both;
  4. 16-303(i): Maximum $500.00 fine and 60 days in jail, or both.

Contact Attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 of you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license.

Can I get a Probation Before Judgment (PBJ) for Driving with Suspended License?

Yes, you are eligible for a PBJ if you have been charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland. If you are granted a PBJ for driving on a suspended license, then you will not receive MVA points on your Maryland Driving Record.

Contact Attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 of you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c