Posted in Criminal Law on June 16, 2016
What happens when you’re charged with assault in Maryland? This is not a typical question that most people ask until they are actually charged with one form of assault in Maryland. But if you do find yourself asking that question, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.
In Maryland, there are various assault charges that can be filed by the State. Depending on the the severity of the alleged act, this will dictate which degree of assault the State will charge. In Maryland, the assault crimes are found in Title 3 Subtitle 2 of the Maryland Criminal Laws. The various degrees of assault in Maryland include:
If you are charged with assault in the first degree and you are convicted, the maximum penalty is 25 years in jail. That is the maximum penalty and the sentence a person receives depends on a number of factors. In Maryland, Judges sentence individuals that have been convicted of a crime. So it is up to the Judge as to the sentence for a conviction of first degree assault. First degree assault is classified as a felony in Maryland.
If you are charged with assault in the second degree and you are convicted, the maximum penalty is 10 years in jail and/or a $2,500.00 fine. Second degree assault is classified as a misdemeanor in Maryland with one exception. If you are charged and convicted of second degree assault and the victim is a police officer and the police officer suffers “physical injury” then the maximum penalty is 10 years in jail and/or $5,000.oo fine. Also, second degree assault on a police office is classified as a felony in Maryland.
What can happen if you are convicted of assault in Maryland? If convicted or you receive a probation before judgment for assault in Maryland you could face numerous consequences. One of which could be jail. In addition to jail, you could be placed on a period of probation, either supervised or unsupervised by the Department of Parole and Probation.
If you’ve been charged with assault, contact the Randolph Rice criminal defense lawyers at 410.288.2900 for immediate legal help.