Blog

Is Second Degree Assault a Felony in Maryland

Do you want to know Is Second Degree Assault a Felony in Maryland?

Second Degree Assault in Maryland is both a felony and a misdemeanor in Maryland.

Is Second Degree Assault a Felony in Maryland

Second degree assault is a misdemeanor and felony in Maryland, but to determine which one, you have to look at which section you are charged with.

Maryland Criminal Defense Attorney Randolph Rice – 410-288-2900.

If you are charged with Maryland Criminal Law 3-203(a) or (b) then you have been charged with the Misdemeanor Assault – Second Degree.

If you are charged with Maryland Criminal Law 3-203(c) then you have been charged with the Felony Assault -Second Degree on a Law Enforcement Officer.

Second Degree Assault Lawyer in Maryland

If you’ve been charged with the felony or misdemeanor second degree assault in Maryland, you need to contact a lawyer as soon as possible.

Maryland criminal defense attorney Randolph Rice represents clients charged with felony and misdemeanor second degree assault in Maryland. Attorney Rice is a former Assistant State’s Attorney, Ranked by Super Lawyers as a Maryland Rising Star, Avvo 10 out of 10, and Lead Counsel Rated.

Second Degree Assault Penalties in Maryland

The penalty for second degree assault in Maryland as as follows:

  • A person that is convicted of second degree assault is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment of 10 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500.00 or both.
  • A person that is convicted of second degree assault on a law enforcement officer is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to imprisonment of 10 years or a fine not exceeding $5,000.00 or both.

How do I find out if I’ve been charged with the felony or misdemeanor second degree assault in Maryland?  You can look at the charging documents you received from the police officer or commissioner.  Or you can visit the Maryland Judiciary Case Search. Agree to the terms of the site and enter your last, first and middle initial.  Find your case and from the section you are charged with in the body of the page.

Is Second Degree Assault a Felony in Maryland – Only if the victim in the case is a law enforcement officer.  Also, the assault must be severe enough that it causes “physical injury” to the law enforcement officer.  Physical injury means any impairment of physical injury, excluding minor injuries.

Q: Is Second Degree Assault a Felony in Maryland.

A: Yes, you can be charged with Felony Second Degree Assault in Maryland if the victim is a law enforcement officer.

If you’re facing second degree assault charges in Maryland, contact Maryland criminal defense attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 or email the office for immediate legal help and advice.  Free confidential consultations, same day appointments available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c