Baltimore Driving on a Suspended License Lawyer

Get Your Free Consultation

You may or not know it, but your driver’s license or privilege to drive in Maryland or another state may be suspended, canceled, refused, or revoked.  If you are stopped by a police officer in Maryland and your license in Maryland or another state of suspended, revoked, or canceled, you could be facing arrest and charges that can carry up to 1 year in jail.

Do You Need an Attorney for Driving on Suspended License in Maryland?

Yes, you should hire a lawyer for all traffic citations in Maryland, in particular, any violation of Maryland Transportation Article 16-303.  Contact a driving on suspended Maryland license attorneys with the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at (410) 694-7291.

What are the Different Sections of the Maryland Transportation Article 16-303?

There are 7 sections to TA 16-303:

16-303(a) – Driving on a Refused License
16-303(b) – Driving on a Canceled License
16-303(c) – Driving on a Suspended License Generally
16-303(d) – Driving on a Revoked License
16-303(e) – Driving on a License canceled by other states
16-303(f) – Driving on a License suspended by other states
16-303(g) – Driving on a License revoked by other states
16-303(h) – Driving on a License suspended under certain provisions of the transportation article
16-303(i) – Driving on a License suspended by other states under certain provision of the transportation article

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Maryland

If you are found guilty of violating any section of TA 16-303, you could be eligible for a Probation Before Judgment (PBJ), or depending on your record or the facts of the case, you could receive a guilty finding.  If you receive a PBJ in your case, you do not receive any MVA points in Maryland.  That is beneficial because your insurance company will not find out about the conviction and more likely than not your insurance rates will not increase.

If you are found guilty:

Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (a): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (b): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (c): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (d): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (e): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (f): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (g): Maximum of $1,000 fine and 1 year incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (h): Maximum of $500 fine and 60 days incarcerated.
Maximum Penalty for violation of 16-303 (i): Maximum of $500 fine and 60 days incarcerated

Did You Recieve MVA Points?

After you are convicted of a vehicle-related law violation in Maryland, the Maryland District Court notifies the MVA of the conviction. The MVA then applies the appropriate points to your driver record. Other actions taken by the MVA in response to this notification depend upon the total number of points that you have accumulated during the two-year period prior to the violation:

  • 3 to 4 points – The MVA will send you a warning letter.
  • 5 to 7 points – The MVA will require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
  • 8 to 11 points – The MVA will send you a notice of suspension.
  • 12 or more points – The MVA will send you a notice of revocation.

If You Were Arrested for Driving on a Suspended License, Our Lawyers Can Help

Each case is different and we won’t know until we research your case, review the statement of charges, and speak with witnesses, police officer, and State’s Attorney.  We do look to a number of cases that have provided defenses to these types of charges, including:

Have you been charged with driving with a suspended license in Maryland?  Driving with a suspended license in Maryland is considered a serious offense and is a “must appear offense in Maryland.  Must appear means you have to appear in Court.  It is not a ticket that you can pay by mail or at the Courthouse.  You must appear for your trial date before the Judge.

There are three types of tickets a police officer may issue if you are caught driving on a suspended license in Maryland:

  1. Driving while privilege is suspended generally (16-303(c);
  2. Driving while privilege is suspended by other state (16-303(e)); and
  3. Driving while privilege is suspended under certain provisions of article (16-303(h).

SUSPENDED LICENSE IN MARYLAND – PENALTIES

If you are convicted of driving while privilege is suspended generally (16-303(c)) then you could face a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and/or a $1,000.00 fine.

If you are convicted of driving while privilege is suspended by other state (16-303(e)) then you could face a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and/or a $1,000.00 fine.

If you are convicted of driving while privilege is suspended under certain provisions of article (16-303(h)) then you could face a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and/or a $500.00 fine.

SUSPENDED LICENSE IN MARYLAND – MVA POINTS

If you received a “guilty” for a driving while privilege is suspended in Maryland, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will assess points to your driving record.

If you receive a Probation Before Judgment (PBJ) then the MVA will not assess points to your driving record.

The following list provides the points that will be assessed to your driving record if you are found guilty:

  • 16-303(c) – 12 points
  • 16-303(e) – 12 points
  • 16-303(h) – 3 points

SUSPENDED LICENSE IN MARYLAND – WHAT SHOULD I DO?

As soon after you are stopped and ticketed for driving with a suspended license in Maryland, you want to resolve the underlying issue that caused the suspension. There are numerous reasons your license may be suspended in Maryland or another State.

If you failed to pay a ticket, go to the closest District Court in Maryland and pay the outstanding ticket(s).

If you failed to pay child support, make sure you pay any outstanding child support payments as soon as possible.

SUSPENDED LICENSE IN MARYLAND – ATTORNEYS

If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended license in Maryland, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at (410) 834-1350.  The attorneys at RiceLawMd.com will discuss your case and possible defenses.  They have represented thousands of clients in Maryland that have been charged with driving on suspended license in Maryland.

Confidentially talk to one of our attorneys for free.

Call Us Today

Ellicott City
3697 Park Avenue, 2nd Floor
Ellicott City, MD 21043

Lutherville
1301 York Rd. #200
Lutherville-Timonium, MD 21093

Baltimore
6914 Holabird Ave Suite A
Baltimore, MD 21222

Call Us Today

410-694-7291

  • GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.






© COPYRIGHT 2019 THE LAW OFFICES OF RANDOLPH RICE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. | SITEMAP | PAY YOUR BILL ONLINE | RESOURCES

"He was so helpful from the second I walked into his office. He made sure to answer all of my questions anytime I needed them answered (which was a lot!) I have and will continue to recommend him to anyone and everyone I know!" 5 stars - Chelsea M.

Best Criminal Defense Lawyer in Baltimore

+