If you’ve been charged with second degree assault in Maryland, contact criminal defense attorney G. Randolph Rice, Jr., at 410-288-2900 or email the office for immediate legal assistance and representation.
Is Second Degree Assault in Maryland a felony or misdemeanor?
Second degree assault in Maryland is a misdemeanor. (except when the victim is a law enforcement officer, see information below)
If you’ve been charged with second degree assault in Maryland, the maximum penalty is 10 years in jail and a $2,500.00 fine, or both.
Second degree assault charges are typically filed when one individual attempts to assault another person, an individual takes some action that causes another person to believe they are going to be assaulted, or when an individual makes contact with another person, and that contact is not consented to.
Defenses to Second Degree Assault in Maryland
There are defenses to second degree assault in Maryland, including:
- Defense of others;
- Defense of habitation;
- Defense of property;
- Mistake of fact; and
When Second Degree Assault is a Felony in Maryland
Second Degree Assault is classified as a felony in Maryland if the assault occurred upon a “law enforcement officer.”
If the victim is a police officer or a law enforcement officer and the individual charged caused “physical injury” to a law enforcement officer, then the charges are classified as a felony in Maryland. The maximum penalty is 10 years in jail and a $5,000.00 fine, or both.
If you’ve been charge with second degree assault in Maryland and you need legal representation, contact the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC at 410-288-2900 for immediate legal help.
See Attorney Randolph Rice discuss the second degree assault and the penalties associated with the crime in Maryland.
[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’tqNEKlKE7fs’]