Blog

DUI in Baltimore County

Baltimore county dui lawyer

Lawyer for DUI in Baltimore County Maryland

We know DUI in Baltimore County, Maryland.  We know how the Judges decide DUI (driving under the influence) cases in Baltimore County, we know how prosecutors go after DUI charges and we know the procedure for a DUI in Baltimore County. We are Baltimore County DUI lawyers and we are ready to help. Contact Baltimore County DUI attorney Randolph Rice today to schedule a free consultation.

If you are arrested for DUI in Baltimore County then your case will be heard in one of the three District Courts in Baltimore County; Catonsville District Court, Towson District Court or Essex/Rosedale District Court.

Arrested for DUI in Baltimore County?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Baltimore County, you want to hire a lawyer with experience and knowledge of the Baltimore County Court system. Attorney Randolph Rice is a former Assistant State’s Attorney (ASA) for Baltimore County.  As an ASA he handled thousands of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) cases. Mr. Rice began defending DUI cases in 2009 and since has handled hundreds of DUI cases in Baltimore County, Md.  He is a recognized by his peers as a Maryland Super Lawyer – Rising Star. He is ranked by Avvo, one of the premier lawyer ranking services, as a Superb 10 out of 10 and is Lead Counsel Rated.

You can contact attorney Randolph Rice at (410) 288-2900 or email him directly to discuss your case and to schedule a free consultation.

Baltimore County DUI Penalties

Offense1st Offense2nd Offense3rd or Subsequent OffenseMVA Point AssessmentMandatory Penalty
21-902(a)(1) Driving while under the influence of alcoholA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $2,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or bothA fine of not more than $3,000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both12 PointsA person who is convicted of a violation of 21–902(a) within 5 years after a prior conviction is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days. A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense under 21–902(a) within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days
21-902(a)(2) Driving while under the influence of alcohol per seA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $2,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or bothA fine of not more than $3,000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both12 PointsA person who is convicted of a violation of 21–902(a) within 5 years after a prior conviction is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days. A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense under 21–902(a) within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days
21-902(a)(3) Driving while under the influence of alcohol while transporting a minorA fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or bothA fine of not more than $3,000 or imprisonment for not more than 3 years or bothA fine of not more than $4,000 or imprisonment for not more than 4 years or both12 PointsA person who is convicted of a violation of 21–902(a) within 5 years after a prior conviction is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days. A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense under 21–902(a) within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days
21-902(b)(1) Driving while impaired by alcoholA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine not exceeding $500 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or bothA fine not exceeding $3,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or both8 PointsN/A
21-902(b)(2) Driving while impaired by alcohol while transporting a minorA fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or bothA fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or bothA fine of not more than $4,000 or imprisonment for not more than 4 years or both8 PointsN/A
21-902(c)(1) Driving while impaired by drugs or drugs and alcoholA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine not exceeding $500 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or bothA fine not exceeding $3,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or both8 PointsN/A
21-902(c)(3) Driving while impaired by drugs or drugs and alcohol while transporting a minorA fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 6 months or bothA fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 1 year or bothA fine of not more than $4,000 or imprisonment for not more than 4 years or both8 PointsN/A
21-902(d)(1) Driving while impaired by controlled dangerous substanceA fine of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or bothA fine of not more than $2,000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or bothA fine of not more than $3,000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both12 PointsA person who is convicted of a violation of 21–902(d) within 5 years after a prior conviction is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days. A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense under 21–902(d) within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days
21-902(d)(2) Driving while impaired by controlled dangerous substance while transporting a minorA fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or bothA fine of not more than $3,000 or imprisonment for not more than 3 years or bothA fine of not more than $4,000 or imprisonment for not more than 4 years or both12 PointsA person who is convicted of a violation of 21–902(d) within 5 years after a prior conviction is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 5 days. A person who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense under 21–902(d) within 5 years is subject to a mandatory minimum penalty of imprisonment for not less than 10 days
21-902.1 Driving after arrest for drunk drivingA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or bothA fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months or both8 PointsN/A

A DUI conviction can result in jail, probation, fines and court costs, alcohol treatment program, MADD class, shock trauma course and community service.  A successful defense case result in a not guilty or dismissal by the State.

DUI charges are highly technical and often a mistake by the police officer or the State’s case can result in a dismissal of nolle prosequi.

If you are convicted of DUI, there can be collateral consequences such as:

  • Increase case insurance rates;
  • Loss of employment;
  • Loss of license or privilege to drive;
  • Limits on future employment;
  • Immigration issues.

What Do You Do Now?

Hire a lawyer soon than later:  You want to contact a lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your DUI charges.  There are time limits that you must respond to the MVA to ensure you don’t lose your privilege to drive following a DUI in Baltimore County.

Do Some Research on DUI Law in Maryland: The Law Offices of Randolph Rice are always updating their website to include new DUI laws in Maryland:

Check out the DUI lawyer on Case Search: Make sure you run a lawyers name through the Maryland Judiciary Case Search to make sure they handle DUI charges in Maryland. Enter the lawyer’s last and first name and if they don’t have more than 500 results, move on to the next lawyer.

Feel Comfortable with Your Lawyer: You want to visit with a lawyer to determine if you feel comfortable with that lawyer.  Remember, this lawyer has your future in his hands and you want to find someone that you feel comfortable defending and speaking on your behalf in Court.

The Law Offices of Randolph Rice understand you may feel overwhelmed by a DUI charge.  They know you have a million worries and you want the best advise and guidance for your case.  A serious charge requires a serious attorney for a Baltimore County DUI.

Please email us or contact if you’ve been arrested for DUI in Baltimore County, Maryland. You will speak with attorney Randolph Rice, he offers same day appointments and if you can’t make it to the office, he can conduct the interview over the phone.

More information about the offices:

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

c