As the county seat for Baltimore County, and the home of Towson University, it’s not uncommon for the Baltimore County Police or Maryland State Police to charge multiple people every day for drunk driving in Towson Maryland. Whether you’ve been charged in Towson with a DUI or live in Towson, if you’re facing drunk driving charges you should consult a Towson DUI lawyer immediately.
With over two dozen bars in the Towson area, the police are constantly looking 4 signs of drunk driving. Towson is a hotbed for DUI and DWI arrests because of the population and the number of major highways and roads in the area. Some of the most popular roads were drunk driving arrest occur in the Towson area or Falls Road, Ruxton Road, Charles Street, E. Joppa Road, and York Road.
There are four categories of drunk driving or driving while impaired under the Maryland laws. Those include driving Under the Influence, driving while impaired by alcohol, driving while impaired by drugs or drugs and alcohol, and driving while impaired by a controlled dangerous substance. The penalty if convicted of Driving Under the Influence or driving while impaired in Maryland can range from a fine of $500 and 60 days in jail all the way up to four years in jail and or a $4,000 fine.
Although a lot of people believe a first-time drunk driving arrest is not that serious, it can land an individual in jail. If convicted of drunk driving or driving while impaired in Towson you could be facing serious fines and court costs, probation, alcohol treatment in classes, community service and the potential for jail time in the Baltimore County Detention Center. Hiring and experienced Towson DUI lawyer is key to fight any DUI or DWI charge.
If you’re stopped and arrested for DUI the police will offer you a breath or blood test. If you refuse to take the test, then the motor vehicle administration will either suspend your license or require you to participate in the ignition interlock program. If you take the test and your results are .07 or less then no action will be taken against your license. If your results are between .08 and .14 then you may be eligible for a restricted license.
You should consult with a Towson DUI attorney as to your options in this circumstance. If your blood alcohol content results are .15 or higher then your license will be suspended or you will be required to participate in the ignition interlock program. A lot of individuals have questions about the MVA hearing request. You should consult with an attorney and discuss the steps you should take and whether you should elect to request an MVA hearing. And NBA hearing does cost extra, there is a $150 fee that must be paid. In addition, you are required to appear before administrative law judge.
If you’re convicted of Driving Under the Influence, a first offense could result in a fine of $1,000 and or up to a year in jail. If you’re convicted of a second Offense for driving under the influence then you’re facing up to two years in jail and or a $2,000 fine. A third or subsequent offense for driving under the influence in Maryland can result in up to three years in jail and a $3,000 fine. If you do not receive a probation before judgment in your DUI case, then 12 points will be assessed to your Maryland driving record. 12 points will also result in the revocation of your license and the motor vehicle administration may require you to participate in the ignition interlock program.
If you’re convicted of driving while impaired in Towson Maryland, a first offense could result in a $500 fine and up to two months in jail. A second offense will result in up to one year in jail and or a $500 fine. And a third or subsequent DWI conviction could land you in jail for 3 years and force you to pay a $3,000 fine. If you receive a guilty finding for driving while impaired in Towson, the Motor Vehicle Administration will assess eight points to your Maryland driving record. 8 points will cause your license to be suspended and you may be required to participate in the ignition interlock program.
If you’re convicted of DUI or DWI within 5 years after a prior conviction of drunk driving, then the judge can order a mandatory 5-day jail sentence. If you’re convicted of a third or subsequent offense of drunk driving within 5 years then the judge is required to sentence you to a mandatory 10 days in jail.
When looking for the best Towson DUI lawyer you should contact attorney Randolph rice. Mr. Rice is a former assistant State’s Attorney and is ranked a super lawyer Rising Star as well as an Avvo Superb 10 out of 10 attorneys. He has handled hundreds of DUI and DWI cases in Towson Maryland and is familiar with the judges and prosecutors that handle these types of cases.
If you’re charged with DUI in the Towson area or your case has been set in the Towson District Court then contact the Towson DUI lawyer Randolph rice today to schedule a free consultation. All DUIs start in the district court for the county they are charged in. The Towson District Court is located at 120 East Chesapeake Avenue Towson, Maryland 21286. There is a parking garage adjacent to the courthouse as well as street parking. There is a total of six courtrooms in the Towson District Court as well as a commissioner’s office in the basement. DUI and DWI cases are typically heard on Mondays and Tuesdays in the Towson District Court during both the morning and afternoon dockets. If you have a DUI scheduled in the morning you should appear at 8:30 in your courtroom. If you have a DUI or DWI schedule for the afternoon in the Towson District Court, you should appear at 1 p.m.
How do you find the top DUI attorneys in Towson Maryland? Contact attorney Randolph Rice to discuss the possible defenses and consequences for a drunk driving arrest in Towson Maryland. Mr. Rice has been ranked as a top DUI attorney in Baltimore County in Towson Maryland. His knowledge of the DUI and DWI laws provide exceptional legal representation in the Towson District Court and Circuit Court. Call The Top DUI attorney in Towson today for immediate legal help.