Getting Charged with a DUI vs DWI in Maryland
[uxi_video type=’youtube’ ratio=’16by9′ size=’500′ center=’true’ id=’-3gI212pGfc’]
There is a difference between DUI vs DWI charges in Maryland. If you are charged with either a DUI vs DWI, contacting an attorney can help you navigate the process effectively.
Call attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 or email his office for immediate legal help and to schedule a free consultation.
DUI Laws in Maryland
DUI stands for “driving under the influence” and is issued to drivers whose BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is measured at .08% or higher. DUI penalties are serious and include an automatic 12 points against your driving record which results in the revocation of your driver’s license. The first offense for a DUI carries a $1,000 fine and a maximum jail sentence of one year. A second DUI offense will result in an increased fine of $2,000 and a maximum of two years in jail. It is important to note that DUI laws are a little different for those under 21. If a BAC of .02% or higher is measured on a driver under 21, the driver can be charged with a DUI.
DWI Laws in Maryland
DWI stands for “driving while impaired” and this charge differs from a DUI. If a driver is pulled over and a BAC of between .07 and .079% is measured, a DWI charge is issued, but it is possible to be charged with a DWI with a BAC as low as .04%. The officer must use some amount of judgement in issuing a DWI to someone with a lower BAC. The penalties for a DWI are less than those associated with DUI charges. Drivers charged with a DWI will see 8 points on their driving record, a $500 fine and a maximum of two months of jail time for first-time offenses. For second DWI offenses, the fine remains $500 but the maximum jail time increases to one year.
DUI vs DWI Maryland
Contacting a lawyer if you have been charged with either a DUI or DWI in Maryland can help reduce the penalties because of the amount of proof required for the state to uphold these charges. While a DWI carries lesser penalties than a DUI, it is still a major blow to driving records and can often be fought in court successfully. If you are charged with a DUI, it is possible to plead to a lesser offense and thereby salvage your driving record.
Contact attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 if you’ve been charged with DUI or DWI in Maryland. Attorney Rice is ranked by Super Lawyers as a Maryland Rising Star. He is rated by Avvo as a 10 out of 10 and is Lead Counsel Rated.
DUI vs DWI can be a complicated case for the State to prove, make sure you hire a DUI & DWI lawyer that is familiar with the Judges and laws before you appear in Court.