If you’re charged with a driving offense or receive a traffic ticket in Maryland, you probably have questions about the points you may receive on your Maryland driving record. Too many points can result in additional penalties by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

If you are convicted of a vehicle-related law violation in Maryland, the Maryland District Court or Circuit Court notifies the MVA of the conviction. The MVA then applies the appropriate points to your driver record. Action taken by the MVA in response to this notification depend upon the total number of points that you have accumulated during the two-year period prior to the violation:

  • 3 to 4 points – The MVA will send the driver a warning letter.
  • 5 to 7 points – The MVA will require the driver to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
  • 8 to 11 points – The MVA will send the driver a notice of suspension.
  • 12 or more points – The MVA will send the driver a notice of revocation.

Maryland Point Assessment Laws

The number of points assessed for a conviction, not a PBJ or probation before judgment, can be found in Maryland Transportation Article §16–402. After the conviction of an individual for a violation of Title 2, Subtitle 5, § 2–209, § 3–211, or § 10–110 of the Criminal Law Article, or of the vehicle laws or regulations of this State or of any local authority, points shall be assessed against the individual as of the date of violation and as follows:

1 Point Violations

  • Any moving violation not listed below and not contributing to an accident.

2 Point Violations

  • Following another vehicle too closely.
  • Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 10 miles an hour or more.
  • Driving with an improper class of license.
  • Any violation of § 21–1111 of this article.
  • Passing an emergency or police vehicle under the provisions of § 21–405(d) of this article
  • A violation of § 21–511(a) of this article
  • Failure to stop a vehicle for a steady red traffic signal in violation of § 21–202 of this article or a non-functioning traffic control signal in violation of § 21–209 of this article
  • Operating a limousine in violation of § 21–1127(a) of this article.
  • Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under § 10–110(f)(2)(i) of the Criminal Law Article

3 Point Violations

  • Failing to stop for a school vehicle with activated alternately flashing red lights.
  • Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under § 10–110(f)(2)(ii) of the Criminal Law Article
  • Any moving violation contributing to an accident
  • Any violation of § 16–303(h) or (i) of the Transportation Article
  • Any violation, except violations committed on the John F. Kennedy Memorial Highway, of § 21–1411 of this article

5 Point Violations

  • Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 30 miles an hour or more
  • Driving while not licensed.
  • Failure to report an accident.
  • Driving on a learner’s permit unaccompanied
  • Any violation of § 17–107 of this article.
  • Participating in a race or speed contest on a highway.
  • Any violation of § 16–304 or § 16–305 of the Transportation Article.
  • Any violation of § 22–404.5 of this article.
  • Speeding in excess of a posted speed limit of 65 miles an hour by 20 miles an hour or more.
  • Aggressive driving in violation of § 21–901.2 of this article.
  • Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under § 10–110(f)(2)(iii) of the Criminal Law Article

6 Point Violations

  • Reckless driving

8 Point Violations

  • Driving while impaired by alcohol or while impaired by a drug, combination of drugs, or a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol, or driving within 12 hours after arrest under § 21–902.1 of this article.
  • Turning off lights of a vehicle to avoid identification.
  • Failing to stop after accident resulting in damage to attended vehicle or property.
  • Failing to stop after accident resulting in damage to unattended vehicle or property.
  • Any violation of § 16–815 or § 16–816 of the Transportation Article.

12 Point Violations

  • Failing to stop after an accident resulting in bodily injury or death.
  • Any violation of §16–303 of the Transportation Article, excluding § 16–303(h) or (i).
  • Any violation of §16–301, § 16–302, § 16–804, or § 16–808(a)(1) through (9) or (b) of the Transportation Article.
  • Homicide, life threatening injury under §3–211 of the Criminal Law Article, or assault committed by means of a vehicle
  • Driving while under the influence of alcohol, while under the influence of alcohol per se, or while impaired by an illegally used controlled dangerous substance.
  • Any felony involving use of a vehicle.
  • Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer.
  • The making of a false affidavit or statement under oath, or falsely certifying to the truth of any fact or information to the Administration under the Maryland Vehicle Law or under any law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles.
  • Any violation involving an unlawful taking or unauthorized use of a motor vehicle under §7–105 or §7–203 of the Criminal Law Article, or §14–102 of the Transportation Article.
  • A violation of §21–1124.3 of the Transportation Article.

Our Maryland Traffic Ticket Lawyers Can Help

If you’ve been charged with a traffic ticket in Maryland, you need an experienced traffic ticket lawyer to defend you. Contact the Law Offices of Randolph Rice today to schedule a free consultation at (410) 694-7291.