Accidents are unfortunate, and drivers may be seriously injured. Dealing with an accident is hard enough, but dealing with an unlicensed driver can complicate things.
When someone without a driver’s license crashes into your car, that person might face legal penalties. All drivers are required to have a valid license. Unfortunately, many unlicensed drivers often come with other problems, such as a lack of insurance. When the unlicensed driver who hit you is uninsured, you may need to turn to your own insurance for coverage or file a lawsuit against the other driver. the driver’s lack of a license and other related details may be used against them in court.
If you were recently in a car accident with an unlicensed driver, your case might be more complicated than you first thought. Our Maryland car accident attorneys can help you get compensation for your injuries. Call Rice, Murtha & Psoras at (410) 694-7291 for a free case review.
Penalties for Other Drivers Who Crash Into Your Car Without a License in Maryland
When another driver crashes into you, your main concern is probably getting medical attention, repairing your vehicle, and getting all your expenses covered by the other driver. However, your main concern might take a backseat to the concerns of law enforcement. If the other driver is unlicensed, they may face various criminal penalties.
According to Md. Code, Transportation, § 16-101(a), a person may not drive or even attempt to drive any motor vehicle on any road or highway in Maryland unless they hold a valid driver’s license, are exempt from licensing requirements, or is otherwise authorized to drive the vehicle. Call our Maryland car accident lawyers right away if the other driver in your accident was unlicensed or driving on a suspended license.
A driver convicted of driving without a valid license may be jailed for up to 60 days and fined up to $500 for a first offense. Any subsequent offense may be met with up to 1 year in jail and a fine of no more than $500. A conviction for driving without a license or other traffic violations may be used against the driver in a civil trial.
When Unlicensed Drivers Crash Into Your Car Without Insurance in Maryland
Unlicensed drivers tend to present with multiple legal issues. Many unlicensed drivers are also uninsured. In some cases, the driver never had insurance because they have never had a license. In other cases, their insurance may have been canceled because they lost their license for a traffic or criminal violation. If the driver who crashed into you was uninsured in addition to being unlicensed, call our Baltimore car accident lawyers for help.
Maryland is an at-fault state, which means injured drivers must file third-party claims with the other driver’s insurance. Ideally, all drivers should have insurance since it is required by law under Md. Code, Transportation, § 17-103(a).
If the other driver is uninsured and unlicensed, you may have to seek coverage from your own insurance. Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage may help people hit by drivers without any insurance. This insurance is required by law, and all drivers must carry it. However, if your damages exceed your insurance limits, you may have to turn elsewhere for compensation.
Filing a Lawsuit Against an Unlicensed Driver After a Maryland Car Accident
If the other driver has no insurance and your damages exceed the limits of your uninsured motorist policy, you might have to file a lawsuit. While many drivers are hesitant to start a legal battle, a lawsuit might be the best way for you to get your damages covered by the person responsible for your accident. Our Aberdeen car accident attorneys can help you begin your lawsuit.
If the other driver is convicted of criminal charges related to the accident, you may use those convictions against them in your civil trial. Since the other driver did not have a valid license, there is a good chance there will be some criminal issues at play. Convictions could include citations for driving without a license or insurance.
Keep in mind that any pending criminal actions against the unlicensed driver take priority. This means you can file a lawsuit, but it might take a backseat to the criminal trial. You can use this extra time to your advantage by contacting an attorney and beginning your legal strategy.
Holding an Unlicensed Driver Liable for a Car Accident in Maryland
On the one hand, when the defendant in a car accident case does not have a driver’s license, the case may be more complicated. On the other hand, you might have new details you can use against the defendant to hold them liable for the accident. Our Bethesda car accident attorneys can help you develop an effective legal strategy for your lawsuit.
In any negligence case, you must prove the defendant owed you a duty of care and breached that duty. You must also demonstrate that the breach is the direct cause of the accident and that your damages are real and not hypothetical or only potential.
You might be able to use the defendant’s license status to help you prove negligence. Why did they not have a license? Did they fail the driver’s license test? Was their license suspended for a DUI? Did they accumulate too many points against their license?
If they lost their license because they are a reckless driver, you can use this to help prove breach of duty. If this person is so dangerous behind the wheel that their license was taken away, you may be in a better position to hold them negligently liable.
Call Our Maryland Car Accident Lawyers Today
If you were injured in a car accident caused by a driver without a license, our Rockville car accident attorneys can help you get compensation. Unlicensed drivers are often unlicensed for a good reason. Call Rice, Murtha & Psoras today at (410) 694-7291 for a free case evaluation.